MENU
 
Book Now Welcombe Hotel Spa and Golf Club
Welcombe Hotel Spa and Golf Club Stratford-upon-Avon, Cotswolds

4 star luxury spa hotel near Stratford Upon Avon

Welcombe Hotel Spa and Golf Club

Welcombe Hotel Spa and Golf Club Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 70 reviews Member since 2014

Stratford Upon Avon, Warwickshire, CV37 0NR

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

70 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


StarStarStarStarStar Emma, Herefordshire, stayed: May 2018 Show more...


"Lovely hotel, disappointing restaurant"

StarStarStarStarStar EJ, Shropshire, stayed: April 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar

We were a party of six, staying for two nights. Reception on arrival was busy but efficient once we reached the front of the queue. The public rooms are delightful, well furnished and relaxing. The bedrooms were a good size, clean and comfortable without being spectacular. Our reservation included an allowance for dinner on both nights and we had booked a table for six in advance of arriving. The service on the first night was good although the menu is rather uninspiring. Our friend was disappointed with her starter of "torched mackerel" which turned out to be a sliver of mackerel barely bigger than a pencil. Despite having booked, on arrival with reception, a table for six at 7.15 pm for the second night, no reservation had been made for us. Nevertheless, we were shown to a table and menus provided. The restaurant was not busy but the service was exceptionally slow, and we were kept waiting, without explanation, between starters and main course. Eventually our friend went to find someone, the waiting staff having disappeared, and we were told that the head chef was ill and had gone home so the kitchen was in chaos. We finally left the table some 2 hrs 30 mins after arriving. We were offered complimentary coffee but, by that time, it was a case of too little, too late. It was a shame that an otherwise pleasant stay was marred by an unimaginative dinner menu and poor service.



"Jules Cardiff"

StarStarStarStarStar Julie, South Glamorgan, stayed: January 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

The stay was a xmas gift we added an extra night to make it a nice break and I am so glad we did. If we had stayed for the one night it would have been extremely disappointing. The room was freezing and we were given one very small heater which made absolutely no difference. The hotel had no additional heaters and offered us an extra duvet to keep warm, also there was a party just below us and the noise was horrendous, not what you expect especially when you pay a supplement for the Saturday night!
I asked to be moved for the Sunday and they gave us the bridal suite which was stunning. The hotel appeared under staffed, it took forever to get a cream tea even though we were booked and also to get a drink and the hotel was busy but there was only 1 waitress who seemed to be doing food and bar. The SPA was very busy the vitality pool out of order and there was a large group that hugged the hot tub the whole time we were there, same for the hot beds 2 people asleep on them the whole 2 hours, there were towels on all the beds even though they were not being used, I would suggest that they manage this situation. To cap it all we were overcharged. When challenged it was obvious that the chitty's were not signed by us that was very poor. To conclude if we had not added our extra night which did compensate a little it would have been a very poor stay. We have stayed at the hotel previously and had a wonderful weekend hence our choice to return but very disappointed. I have to add that as a vegetarian the menu was limited but in all fairness to the chef he prepared a different option for me on the second night which was stunning so no fault on the dining experience clearly the best part for me. Also there were 2 Julie Fosters in the hotel which appeared to create chaos but the hotel should be able to decipher from the above. My overall ok rating is an average of both days Best regards



StarStarStarStarStar Phil, Bedfordshire, stayed: November 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Excellent hotel, fantastic location, manager Marek really helpful and friendly-nothing was too much for him.  Great relaxing atmosphere, our dog really loved it. Great location, lovely food.  Lovely grounds for walking the dog.  One small criticism- the restaurant menu was the same for the 3 nights we were there, otherwise perfect



"Weekend Stay October"

StarStarStarStarStar RS, Leicestershire, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by friendly reception staff. I asked about the free upgrade. Reception staff explained the standard room was bigger and to see whether that was satisfactory. We were shown to the room to find an awful, dated room with a view over a skip. We returned to the Reception to be shown an upgraded room which was better.  Thankfully I had booked a table in the restaurant by phoning the night before, shame the same couldn't be said for the spa (although not for want of trying). I called the hotel the night before our arrival and attempted to book some treatments. The reception staff told me there was availability for sunday but would not let me book any - assuring me there would be space on my arrival. Once arrived when visiting the spa I was advised they were fully booked all weekend with no availability. They advised me there was nothing I could do.  The spa itself was small and busy - the Jacuzzi was out of order all weekend as was another pool for a period of our stay, which was disappointing but slightly understanding.  Overall the weekend was OK, the hotel itself and grounds are beautiful but definitely not the luxury we expected.



Welcombe Hotel Spa and Golf Club says...

I am ever so sorry to hear of the issues experienced during your stay and that there were problems with booking spa treatments. Unfortunately our spa does get quite booked up for weekends in advance so I am sorry that reception did not make you aware of this when you rang.
I am glad you liked the hotel and I hope you will give us the chance to rectify this on a future stay.

Welcombe Hotel Spa and Golf Club

"Great relaxing break"

StarStarStarStarStar JR, Warwickshire, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

My sister and I stayed for one night on the Sunday night and thought the deal was good value. The room was fabulous and we used the spa facilities which I knew were great before I booked. Jacuzzi was a little cold, but other than that it was perfect! Dinner in the evening was beautifully presented and served very efficiently.
In the morning I had to leave early and a very friendly night manager had made me up a fabulous take-away breakfast.
Thank you so much to all involved in making our stay wonderful!



"Fantastic Buiding, Spa and Grounds let down by poor restaurant"

StarStarStarStarStar Anthony, London, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

To start with the good:

The buildings and grounds are fantastic and views from the restaurant and rooms are wonderful.
On arrival our booked twin room was not available and we were told that we had been upgraded to a 4 poster bed. This was not suitable as I was recovering from a broken shoulder and needed a separate bed. The staff were very understanding and juggled bookings and switched us to a suite with two beds - very impressed.

The spa was excellent but is also used by local members and was very busy on the monday morning, with water aeorobics taking up 90% of the pool and spoiling the quiet ambiance with disco music.

The bad:

The restaurant which is billed as gourmet is poor, The special deal includes a 35 allowance of dinner, this only covers the basic items. The menu is misleading for instance a goats cheese starter turns out to me an airy moose, the 12 hour braised shoulder of lamb is a chopped up tasteless mound of lamb which unfortunately looks more like a tin of dog food. On our second evening the only meat dish on the menu (pork) had run out. As I have a fish allergy and didnt fancy a pea rissotto I was forced to pay an extra 12 for a steak (which was very good). I would rather pay an extra 10 a person per night if that could be spent on better quality food, as the value of the ingredients we were given you would be had pushed to spend more than 5 on.

The bar in a lovely old room was very comfortable, but as a real ale lover was dissapointed that the draught beer ran out early on the saturday evening and was not available at all on Sunday, the alternative being bottles of Black Sheep at 6 each
(currently at 6 for 5 at the local supermarket).



"OK but could be better"

StarStarStarStarStar Nigel S, Surrey, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

2 night stay was OK but room was very average and bathroom tired with mould and needed decor; TV stations were very limited for the level of hotel and didn't work well; no guide; location good and staff very helpful; breakfast very average and ran out of things which was not acceptable; dinner was varied some was really very good but also some poor; my expensive steak was overcooked with soggy chips.  Pity as great location and based on the website and price for 2 nights should have been much better.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

The Lygon Arms Cotswolds, England
 

View more details & offers

The Wood Norton Cotswolds, England
Evesham

View more details & offers

Ettington Park Hotel Cotswolds, England
Stratford Upon Avon

View more details & offers

The Manor at Weston-On-The-Green Cotswolds, England
Oxfordshire

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    June 2018
S M T W T F S
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594