MENU
 
Book
Now
The Horn of Plenty
The Horn of Plenty Tavistock, Devon, Devon & Cornwall

Stunning luxury country hotel in the heart of Devon

Member since 2013

The Horn of Plenty

The Horn of Plenty Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 17 reviews Member since 2013

Tavistock, Devon, PL19 8JD

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

17 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"One night"

StarStarStarStarStar Rita, Cornwall, stayed: August 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Had the most amazing stay here. Could not fault it. Just perfect.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: August 2018 Show more...


"Lovely Country House Hotel"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: July 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Good rooms with wonderful views of the countryside. Restaurant was well managed with good service and interesting food.
Ideal for 1 or 2 nights.



"Surprisingly disappointing restaurant."

StarStarStarStarStar DG, Wiltshire, stayed: July 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, but the restaurant although good was a disappointment, and really does not seem to merit the Michelin accolades, in our opinion. Perhaps we were just unlucky?
The menu too was very good, but it was fixed and did not change throughout our stay, The meals were prepared with excellent local ingredients, but unfortunately, the chef had a tendency to over cook the protein, and then smother the dish in pungent sauces which overwhelmed everything on the plate. Really comes down to a chef probably trying too hard to impress, and he or she would be well advised to focus on the subtlety of the main ingredients and in using their skill to bring all the flavours together, to produce well balanced meals.
The wine list was comprehensive and competitively priced.
Breakfast was very good, but the sausages were far too strong for our taste.



The Horn of Plenty says...

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visit to the Horn of Plenty. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, but extremely sorry to learn that the food served on this occasion was not to your liking.
Whilst we find most of our guests to be highly complimentary about their dining experience, taste is of course very much a personal thing and we apologise sincerely for your disappointment.
Your comments have been received by our Head Chef, who has taken your feedback on board and will use it constructively to help enable us to improve on our offering.
We do hope that you might consider visiting us again in the future as we would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

"It's just the little things......"

StarStarStarStarStar KM, Surrey, stayed: July 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

All the staff were excellent, particularly those in the restaurant.
I felt it was a shame that the menu for Dinner was the same on each of our two nights-not to say that there was not adequate choice but that an alternative selection would have added to the pleasure.  As was advised at our visit, a proper check of all the facilities would be invaluable for the clientele!



The Horn of Plenty says...

Dear KM,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to The Horn of Plenty.
We are very happy to read that you found service excellent and we do hope you enjoyed your room upgrade.
Further to your comments regarding the menu we aim to be flexible in offering alternatives for longer staying guests with options such as lobster/steak available as a change from our fine dining table d’hôte style. Given enough notice, our chefs are always happy to create new dishes to suit our residents' tastes. We also recently reintroduced our Evening lounge menu, with further options available to those wanting something a little lighter.
We are very sorry if the options above were not clarified to you during your stay and we do hope that any disappointment does not deter you from visiting again us in the future
Kind Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: June 2018 Show more...


"Another lovely stay."

StarStarStarStarStar AH, London, stayed: June 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Another lovely stay, still seems to be confusion when paying the bill regarding content of the OPL offer. Luckily we had the paperwork and it was resolved quickly. One evening meal was not very hot, but they kindly took a bottle of wine off our bill as compensation. Beautiful setting, lovely rooms - much enhanced by some unusually hot weather for Dartmoor. We return for Christmas.



The Horn of Plenty says...

Dear AH,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your return visit to the Horn of Plenty and especially happy to hear that you plan on visiting us again soon!
Our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay, we are glad that the issues raised were resolved swiftly and efficiently.
Thank you again for the feedback, we all very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the festive season.
Kind Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

"Nice location but........"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: June 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

We had a room in the main house which was small and uninviting. The bathroom was the highlight! Dinner on the first night was poor but improved the second night (was it a different chef?)



The Horn of Plenty says...

Thank you for your concise review.
We are very sorry to read that we failed to impress on this occasion.
Please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel directly if you wish to discuss any of your comments in further detail.
Kind Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Devon & Cornwall, England
Nr Kingsbridge, Devon

View more details & offers

Devon & Cornwall, England
Maidencombe, South Devon

View more details & offers

Devon & Cornwall, England
Burrington

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    September 2018
S M T W T F S
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 1 2 3 4 5 6



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594