MENU
 
Book
Now
The Greenway Hotel & Spa
The Greenway Hotel & Spa nr Cheltenham, Cotswolds

Luxury Cotswold Country Spa Hotel near Cheltenham

Member since 2012

The Greenway Hotel & Spa

The Greenway Hotel & Spa Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 139 reviews Member since 2012

Gloucestershire, GL51 4UG

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

139 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Weekend Stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Andrea W, Essex, stayed: January 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Check-in was smooth and efficient. The superior room had character (beams, old windows etc.) quality fittings, decoration and furniture, but lacked a mirror (large mirror in bathroom) and drawer space. The bathroom was excellent, apart from being dark over the basin (angled lights would solve this). Fresh milk requested on arrival and again after 20 minutes took half an hour to arrive (an apology was given). Getting a pre-dinner drink in the bar/lounge area could be difficult. We ordered a bottle of white wine for our meal, which was duly present in a cooler when we were shown to our table. However no attempt was made to either present or pour the wine for us, either when we were shown to the table, when a waitress brought us bread or when our appetisers were brought. With our appetisers in front of us, we opened the wine ourselves and poured it (luckily it was screw top!). The food was excellent. Our bill on checkout charged for the complementary prosecco, but the charge was removed when we queried the bar bill.



The Greenway Hotel & Spa says...

Dear Andrea W, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,
Colleen

"Beautiful, relaxing spa trip for mum and daughter"

StarStarStarStarStar CB, stayed: January 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I bought this break as a treat for my mother. We regularly treat ourselves to breaks in some of London s top 5 star hotels but decided it would be nice to have a country escape for a change. The hotel is beautiful, from the minute we pulled up in the car we felt like we were arriving at a special country estate. It was Christmas and there were plenty of thoughtful yet tasteful Christmas touches. Our greeting at the front desk from the manager was very warm and he swiftly took our bags and swept us up the grand staircase towards our room. The suave was cosy, mixing the historic architecture of the building with contemporary furnishings. The bathroom was lovely with a great High pressure shower- unusual for historic country properties that can have plumbing issues. We had brought a bottle of champagne with us to have in the room- the hotel was great and gave us an ice bucket and even asked us if we wanted champagne glasses, despite the fact we had brought it ourselves. We then went to have pre-dinner cocktails in the bar. Again great friendly service and a sumptuous sieve with cosy sofas that made you feel you were reclining in your own country house living room. We were served canapes with our drinks and the hotel made a special effort to provide for my veganism. Dinner was okay- food was nice enough, beautifully presented but not outstanding in taste compared to some other meals we have had in this category of fine dining. Staff were very accommodating throughout though and the ambience was great. Our bed was very comfortable anb the next day we arrived at breakfast after a very peaceful nights sleep. Post breakfast we were onto the spa. Manicure was done beautifully and foot massage was a really High standard. We loved the hotel so much that we wanted to extend our stay and book a second night. Unfortunately the hotel was completely booked up. All in all, a wonderfully relaxing stay with great staff, beautiful grounds and interiors and lots of special touches. We will be back!



"Disappointing room"

StarStarStarStarStar Andrew, Oxfordshire, stayed: December 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We have stayed at the Greenway twice before booking through another booking site and love it.
However, this time we were Very disappointed with the small disfunctional attic room that we were allocated ( room 1) It only had one bedside table so had to pull a chair over for the other side.The kettle flex didn t reach the power point so had to makes cup of tea on the floor. The only mirror in the room was on the wardrobe door and too far away from a power point to use the hairdryer.
I cannot believe that a hotel of this calibre even has a room like this. We were told on arrival that the hotel was full so we knew there was no point in asking for a room change) In our opinion this was a single room made into a double.
Having said all this, the hotel itself is great and we WILL return BUT NOT TO ROOM 1 and if offpeak luxury can t secure better rooms then we won t book with them again.



"Great for a treat"

StarStarStarStarStar Ashley, Devon, stayed: December 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again



"Relaxing, luxurious, unpretentious"

StarStarStarStarStar JP, Nottinghamshire, stayed: November 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Beautiful hotel set 10 mins from Cheltenham train station. Very relaxed, unpretentious. We were offered a free room upgrade. James at reception was very welcoming. Spa staff were great. Lovely courtyard with log fire and a hot tub. Huge, absolutely luxurious room (called Elm). Fantastic value for money.



"Superb Luxury break in beautiful surroundings"

StarStarStarStarStar Chris, Berkshire, stayed: October 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We booked a Luxury Break through Offpeakluxury who were extremely helpful in assisting us obtain the specific dates we wanted.
The hotel certainly lived up to its billing and the staff were tremendously helpful. We had a great room in the extension very close to the Spa. The pool, Sauna and hot tub were exceptional. The food in the restaurant was extremely well presented with good portions and sooo tasty.



"Terrible experience"

StarStarStarStarStar Adam H, Worcestershire, stayed: August 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

We arrived at the hotel half an hour after check in opened to be told we didn t have a room booked even though we had paid in full online. After 30minutes waiting for them to find us a room we were given our keys and not told about any of the free services included with our stay (we were meant to get free afternoon tea, use of spa and evening meal). We finally arrived in our room confused, disappointed and didn t know what to do during our stay or where and what time we were able to enjoy the use of spas and free afternoon tea. We went back down to reception to find out further information and were guided toward the lounge for afternoon tea. We then waited an hour in total to be served and finally receive our tea. When booking the stay I specified both me and my girlfriend were vegetarian and we were given sandwiches with meat on them and when we told the server they did nothing and left them on our table. Finally after a disappointing afternoon tea we decided to shrug it off and go relax in the spa. We arrive at the spa and we re told no information on what times we could book spa treatments so after changing into our robes we asked at the reception for them to tell us it had finished while we were waiting for our afternoon tea. We were very disappointed with the lack of communication from hotel and spa staff and what was meant to be a relaxing spa retreat ended up being stressful and confusing


Offpeakluxury says...

Dear Mr Hudson,

Thank you for taking the time to submit this feedback following your stay, although we at OPL and the General Manager are very sorry that your visit to The Greenway did not meet your expectations. This is not the typical experience customers have at The Greenway, and we do hope that the separate communication from the General Mnaager to you has resolved the situation to your satisfaction andrestored your faith in the hotel.

With best wishes,

Offpeakluxury


"perfect and luxurious."

StarStarStarStarStar JE, Wiltshire, stayed: July 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We wanted a few days away in the cotswolds and liked the look of this hotel as well as the location between gloucester and cheltenham.  We did expect the hotel to offer us what was described but we were overwhelmed by the whole experience.  Everything was first class, a very successful break away and wished we had booked a longer stay, but there is always a next time! thank you to everyone at the hotel for giving us such a wonderful experience.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Cotswolds, England
Chipping Campden

View more details & offers

East Anglia, England
nr Bishops Stortford

View more details & offers

Somerset & Dorset, England
Nr Taunton

View more details & offers

Devon & Cornwall, England
Nr Kingsbridge, Devon

View more details & offers

Somerset & Dorset, England
Nr Bath

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    January 2019
S M T W T F S
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594