MENU
 
Book
Now
The Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
The Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Windermere, Lake District

Great value hotel with a wonderful location on the shores of Lake Windermere

Member since 2007

The Beech Hill Hotel & Spa

The Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 175 reviews Member since 2007

Windermere, LA23 3LR

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

175 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Our favourite"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: March 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

The best value hotel we have found in the Lake District. We intend visiting at least once a year. The food is very, very good and plentiful, the bedrooms have a beautiful view across the lake, the spa is excellent as are the staff.



"A birthday treat"

StarStarStarStarStar Jan, Lancashire, stayed: March 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

My husband and I stayed here for a little romantic break for his birthday. We have stayed here before but this time we were disappointed with the bedroom as it was quite small rather old and tatty and could do with some improvements. The room we stayed in last time was bigger and newly refurbished. The spa area as always was gorgeous and it so relaxing to sit in the hot tub to watch the world go by after a day of walking! It would be nice if there more beds to sit on in the swimming pool
area and maybe coffee and tea for you to have whilst relaxing The restaurant food was delicious and you could not fault it! We had the deal which include a 2 course meal. The staff were very attentive and ensured that you had everything you needed. We walked to the the town from the hotel and then a little boat trip and then coffee and cake! I do love the lakes and this hotel was good value for us both for our little romantic mid week trip away



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: February 2019 Show more...


StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: February 2019 Show more...


"Beautiful View over Lake"

StarStarStarStarStar JW, Essex, stayed: February 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Lovely hotel food and staff. Room was well appointed bed a hard for us but resolved by a topper being put on by the staff.
Only other criticism was lots of stairs as built into hill which gave a fantastic view over Windermere, however I found them very difficult and arrived very breathless at the top of each flight. A stair chair lift on one of the flight would have made all the difference. So unfortunately we would not choose to stay here again.



"1 night stay at end of Feb"

StarStarStarStarStar Chris, County Durham, stayed: February 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

The hotel is located right on the edge of Lake Windermere approx 3/4 miles from Bowness Town. This seems to be why the hotel gets a bad review, however if you are aware of this before hand it shouldn't be a negative. We used the lakeside taxi app and within a few minutes a taxi collected us into the town. This was a flat rate of 8 each way which isn't bad at all.
We stayed in a premier plus room which I would definitely recommend upgrading to as these rooms are the most recently refurbished. Fantastic view onto the lake from room 8 with French doors onto the terrace outside.
The food in the restaurant is of a really good standard and it is apparent that the hotel have made this a must due to the fact guests would have to travel elsewhere for food.
The spa assisted to be fairly new and despite the pool being cold the facilities were spot on. The outdoor jacuzzi was a nice touch overlooking the lake.
On the whole I tested the hotel as good. There are areas that need to be addressed and updated/decorated I feel to take the hotel to the level of the top hotels in the area.



"Winter get a way"

StarStarStarStarStar Dominic F, Cornwall, stayed: February 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Excellent location, friendly staff, posh food, spa was good pool a little cold but ideal place to stay for walks in the mountains



"The Beech Hill Hotel"

StarStarStarStarStar CR, Merseyside, stayed: February 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

The hotel is a bit tired and dated although the location is great with fabulous views cross Windermere and close to Bowness (minus the road closure).

The staff were friendly and obliging whilst the evening meal and breakfasts were pretty good. Overall the hotel is well overdue a major refurbishment
 



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Lake District, England
Bowness on Windermere

View more details & offers

Lake District, England
Bassenthwaite

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    March 2019
S M T W T F S
24 25 26 27 28 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594