MENU
 
Book
Now
Orestone Manor
Orestone Manor Maidencombe, South Devon, Devon & Cornwall

Luxury country hotel with sea views in Devon

Member since 2013

Orestone Manor

Orestone Manor Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 212 reviews Member since 2013

Rock House Lane, Devon, TQ1 4SX

4.5
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

212 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Birthday Gift"

StarStarStarStarStar Sharon, Devon, stayed: March 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

My sister very kindly gave me a break at Orestone Manor. As its not very far from where we live i would not have thought of staying here but I'm glad she booked it. The hotel is lovely. Small and welcoming. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the food is amazing, the breakfast kept us going until dinner!



"Birthday Treat"

StarStarStarStarStar RS, Hampshire, stayed: March 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Took my partner for a night at Oresone Manor for a birthday treat. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room tastefully decorated and comfortable and the inclusive evening meal was excellent. The hotel has some pleasant walks of different distances in the lovely countryside. The breakfast was sumptuous. The only minor omission was that the welcome drink promised on the web site was not forthcoming.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: February 2019 Show more...


"Excellent Hotel in Quiet Location"

StarStarStarStarStar Phlyn, Dorset, stayed: February 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

This staff could not be more helpful or professional. The classic room we stayed in was well appointed with a good bathroom( a shelf below the mirror would have been nice though).
All of the public rooms were also to an excellent standard.
The breakfast could not be better and dinner was food to die for. Piping hot coffee was served at breakfast and dinner,
The hotel is situated close to the South West Coast Path, and a local bus stop is a short walk away.



"Great Hotel"

StarStarStarStarStar Susan H, stayed: February 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Really good hotel, amazing food and fantastic service



"So Much Potential"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: February 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

We stayed at Orestone Manor as a birthday surprise for my partner. After reading TripAdvisor reviews and the description on their website I had high expectations, but I was left disappointed.

We stayed in the garden room, first impressions were good. Lovely four poster bed, but some aspects of the room (in particular the bathroom) look a bit tired and could do with updating. The hot tub was fantastic, but there are time restrictions on its use (which I hadn t seen mentioned anywhere before our arrival).

Included in our package was a bottle of champagne in our room. I was disappointed to find out that it was Lidl s own brand. It took away the feeling of luxury, knowing that it was from a supermarket which is famous for being inexpensive.

We also had a three course set menu in the restaurant. This was lovely and very well presented, but I felt that it wasn t of the same standard as the sample menu on their website which sounded delicious, although I realise that this could be down to personal taste. We were booked in for 7.30 and finished eating at around 9pm. We were the only people in the restaurant and felt a little rushed when the music was switched off while we were eating. I jokingly said that I thought they were trying to get rid of us........... We went back to our room to relax. When we got into bed we found that the quilt was too small for the bed. We also found that the advertised sky TV package in the room did not work. The booklet in the room gives a number for reception which is manned for 24hrs. We rang hoping to get a new duvet, but couldn t get an answer so we decided to walk around to reception instead, it was now about 9.20pm. The doors to the hotel and restaurant were all locked and everything was in darkness so we went back to our room and slept in the middle of our super king bed so that we both remained under the duvet. We did complain to reception about this when we checked out the next morning. The staff were extremely polite and apologetic and they took the bottle of wine that we had ordered with dinner off our bill to make up for it, which I wasn t expecting and was a nice touch. The breakfast included in the price we paid was lovely.

This place has all the right ingredients to be a fantastic hotel, if only they pay attention to the small details as these are the things that can make or break a visit.



Orestone Manor says...

Thank you for your feedback I am sorry you had one or two service issues. We encourage guests to take their time in the restaurant or afterwards at the bar. The music is a playlist system and naturally finishes after a couple of hours, when it is restarted. There is no question of us switching it off intentionally.
The bar is open for as long as residents are wanting and using the bar. The bar was open but as all the residents had retired for the evening the barman who was on his own being a very quiet February Monday evening locked the front door for security so he could go to the cellar and restock the bar which takes about 15 minutes. What we can learn from this is that the hot tub rooms being outside the building would be unable to enter until the barman returned and because he was still on duty the telephones had not yet been transferred to night service so I was unaware of any calls. We are looking at this and will change our procedure to allow a key for the front door on the remote rooms and any lone staff will switch over the phones upon leaving the reception and bar areas of an evening. I am sorry this inconvenienced you and I am pleased my staff acted to compensate a little with the free wine.
As for the champagne we source all kinds of champagne for our free drinks with a room deals. However no matter who else sells it, it is Champagne not a Cava or Prosecco and as a hotel restaurant package/service it still adds about £45.00 of value to your deal. As much as we would like to give away Krug we would not be in business for very long if we did or we would need to load the price of the package to accommodate it. So I hope you will understand that and that you will come again and enjoy the service standards we have to offer.
Kind regards
Neil D'allen

"Julie and Kevin Dorset."

StarStarStarStarStar Julie, Dorset, stayed: February 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Had a wonderful time, great surprise for my husband 's 60th birthday fab private hot tub, four poster bed, beautiful views, and glorious food. Thankyou



"Great getaway!"

StarStarStarStarStar Richard, Devon, stayed: December 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Fab hotel, welcoming staff, room fantastic and loved using the hot tub, food amazing in the restaurant. Will definitely return.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Somerset & Dorset, England
Nr Taunton

View more details & offers

Devon & Cornwall, England
Nr Kingsbridge, Devon

View more details & offers

Devon & Cornwall, England
 

View more details & offers

Devon & Cornwall, England
Tavistock, Devon

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    March 2019
S M T W T F S
24 25 26 27 28 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594