MENU
 
Book Now Nanteos Mansion
Nanteos Mansion nr Aberystwyth, Mid Wales

Stunning Georgian Manor House near Aberystwyth

Nanteos Mansion

Nanteos Mansion Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 20 reviews Member since 2012

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, SY23 4LU

4.5
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

20 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Our stay at the stream of the nightingale."

StarStarStarStarStar Jeff, West Glamorgan, stayed: May 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Had lovely attention from one member of staff, and the other staff were friendly. Disappointed that we did not dine in the restaurant as indicated on our form, but had to eat in the Kitchen diner. The afternoon tea was enjoyable, particularly as other visitors for tea were friendly and sociable. The scenery is superb, and seemed a private Cwm just for the hotel. A slight quibble about the abundance of cigarette stubs in the grass around the tables outside; seemed out of keeping with the environment and natural ambience of the place. We were delighted with the number of options for breakfast , which spoiled us for lunch on the way home!



"Beautiful place"

StarStarStarStarStar PB, South Glamorgan, stayed: February 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

An absolutely beautiful hotel, with very kind and helpful staff. My partner and I were given a voucher for the 'Romantic break' offer and it was absolutely perfect, exactly what we both needed! The room we stayed in was beautiful, spacious and had a stunning bathroom - very nicely decorated. The food was delicious, and rather good portions too! Overall we had a lovely experience and would definitely book to come again!



"Nanteos Sept 16"

StarStarStarStarStar DJ, Wiltshire, stayed: September 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

The room we had (Ystwth) was very good except the shaver socket in the bathroom didn`t work so I had to kneel on the floor to use an adapter supplied by the hotel to shave . The food in the restaurant although excellent was unvaried (we stayed 5 nights) the menu stayed the same, just one change in the starter and one in the main, for an establishment of this class we expected a different menu each night, very disappointing. Although fresh milk was supplied in the room each day, there were no biscuits in the room, we have stayed in cheap B&Bs that give you biscuits every day ...just a little thing but it makes all the difference. The staff were all very friendly especially the lady on reception who had obviously worked in the hospitality industry before (always asked if we had an enjoyable day out, no one else bothered)



"Birthday break"

StarStarStarStarStar Susan Swansea, stayed: August 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

This short break was a treat for my husband to celebrate his 60 th birthday. We are very familiar with the area, but had not stayed at Nanteos before. We were pleased with our stay. I had read from previous reviews that there was only wi fi available at reception, and think the owners should be honest about this on the web site. We did find this rather annoying but it was just a small problem. Some members of staff were excellent, and I must mention one lady, who served us in the restaurant on both nights. She was wonderful and a great asset to the hotel. Unfortunately, other members of the staff were not as well trained, and a little effort from the owners could rectify this. The food was excellent, and they were very accommodating when I requested changes to the menu. I did have to ask two days running for a birthday candle to be put on my husbands dessert, but this was eventually done. We would visit again, but it would have to be for a special occasion due to the cost.



"Fantastic hotel break"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: July 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Brilliant hotel and cheerful staff who couldn't do enough to ensure the stay was perfect.



"Four Star Prices One Star Restaurant"

StarStarStarStarStar Roger, Powys, stayed: June 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

This hotel has lots of potential but needs to improve its service. We had booked an afternoon tea which took an age to arrive and the service in the restaurant for dinner was even worse. We had booked a table for 7.30 and arrived in the lounge at 7.20. It took an age for our drinks order to be taken as the bar staff of one was serving a party of 9 who were dining privately. When we were eventually seated in the restaurant with two other couples the service was desperately slow. Our main course finally arrived at 9.00 by which time we had lost our appetite and the food, steak, was of poor quality. We filled in the guest satisfaction questionnaire and were promised a 'phone call to address our comments. We're still waiting!!



"Superb country hotel."

StarStarStarStarStar FR, Merseyside, stayed: June 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We very much enjoyed our 2 night stay at Nanteos Mansion. The hotel hit exactly the right balance of luxury and informality. The staff were lovely and always seemed to have time for you even during busy periods. The food was beautifully cooked and presented, definitely fine dining but not rushed and served with great care and attention. The suite was comfortable and very spacious. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay.



"Staff all attentive, willing, helpful but seemed to lack a leader! Small errors let them down."

StarStarStarStarStar AJ, West Yorkshire, stayed: April 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

The small mistakes and the way they were handled suggested the lack of a boss. One got the impression that they were all equals (good) but "that" something was missing and instead of excellent they were just good.
Possibly unfair to say "an up market Fawlty Towers" but we did have a laugh.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Lake Country House Mid Wales, Wales
Nr Builth Wells

View more details & offers

Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms Herefordshire & Worcestershire, England
Ross on Wye, Herefordshire

View more details & offers

Hammet House South Wales, Wales
Pembrokeshire

View more details & offers

Penmaenuchaf Hall North Wales, Wales
Dolgellau, Snowdonia

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    June 2018
S M T W T F S
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594