MENU
 
Book
Now
Lords of the Manor
Lords of the Manor Upper Slaughter, Cotswolds

Romantic luxury country hotel in the heart of the Cotswolds

Member since 2016

Lords of the Manor

Lords of the Manor Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 49 reviews Member since 2016

Gloucestershire, GL54 2JD

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

49 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"a real treat"

StarStarStarStarStar Christine E, Hampshire, stayed: December 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

we have stayed here many many times and have always found it to be a very special place to be
it usually has a good deal for dinner bed and breakfast
i booked 2 rooms and the tasting menu - the food was exceptional and staff were wonderful
so friendly and helpful
we were also offered a late checkout until 1pm which we took advantage of as we had a rather large drinks bill!
also wonderful breakfast
we went to a 5star hotel recently which has a tv series at the moment and had the tasting menu
this was so much better no comparison
thankyou - we will be back



StarStarStarStarStar Martin A, Hertfordshire, stayed: November 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We left the Hotel s review in our room when we left addressed to the Manager but have not has a response.



"Great food experience"

StarStarStarStarStar DB, Tyne and Wear, stayed: October 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

The food was the stand out feature of our stay. Room was okay. Bathroom good. The double bed was rather short, a problem for someone tall. The bedroom carpet needed replacing. If driving some care is required on the access roads which are narrow.



Lords of the Manor says...

Thank you for your feedback. I have passed your positive comments to Head Chef and we are delighted you enjoyed the food! I have taken note of the carpet and we are aware that elements of the hotel need refurbishing. On this note, I am very happy to say the refurbishment program starts this January on the ground floor followed by bedrooms on a rolling program.

I hope you will visit in the future to see the changes.

Kind regards,

Michael and Team

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: September 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

A wonderful hotel where service was excellent. My only grumble is the fact that when we returned after a day out the room had not been serviced, this was 4.00 PM. I feel all rooms should be serviced by lunch time. They need to employ more staff.



Lords of the Manor says...

Thank you for staying with us and I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel wonderful and the service excellent. I shall pass that onto the team! However, I am sorry to hear we did not service your room in time for your return. You are correct we needed to have more staff on duty and even since your stay, this has been rectified.

I hope this will not put you off staying with us in the future and if you do please contact me to let me know you intend to return and I will ensure you have another wonderful stay and our full attention!

Kind regards,

Michael Obray
Geberal Manager

StarStarStarStarStar JB, Gloucestershire, stayed: September 2018 Show more...


"Small luxury hotel and restaurant"

StarStarStarStarStar David, West Midlands, stayed: September 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Lords of the Manor is undoubtedly a small luxury hotel with a top class restaurant. Located in Upper Slaughter in the Cotswolds countryside, it is unashamedly expensive but for that it is a 5 star country hotel with a world class restaurant. The current chef is Charles Smith, whom I am informed, is a recognised chef from New York and gourmet connoisseurs will travel globally just to eat here. It also has an equally expensive wine cellar.

The house itself is an old rectory where Milton stayed and wrote Paradise Lost. It has its own grounds with a lake filled by the river Eye that flows through the village. For us, it will always have to be a special occasion visit as the cost is too prohibitive to be a casual one. It appears to be popular with American and Japanese tourists.



StarStarStarStarStar BK, Norfolk, stayed: August 2018 Show more...


"An ideal venue for a very special treat"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: August 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

The atmosphere of the historic house in beautiful extensive gardens and grounds was peaceful and gracious. The tasting menu provided delicious flavours and was more extensive than the impression one got from first reading. Drinks were expensive, but that was to be expected. The room was comfortable and well equipped and though hidden by a wall, very close to a through lane and therefore not as peaceful as the ambience of the rest of the hotel. However with the weather good we were glad to make the most of the gardens and exploring the village, the history of which was well documented for hotel guests.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Cotswolds, England
nr Cheltenham

View more details & offers

Cotswolds, England
Chipping Campden

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    January 2019
S M T W T F S
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594