MENU
 
Book
Now
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall NW England, North West England

Fine luxury country retreat nestled between the Yorkshire Dales & The Lakes

Member since 2009

Hipping Hall

Hipping Hall Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 23 reviews Member since 2009

Cowan Bridge, Kirkby Lonsdale, LA6 2JJ

4.5
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

23 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Short stay in the Dales"

StarStarStarStarStar David, West Yorkshire, stayed: July 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Excellent dinners served on successive nights. Restaurant staff enthusiastic and well versed. Wonderful gardens. Bathroom equipment somewhat complex to use without instructions. Only hotel we have ever stayed in without any literature or brochure giving information about the area or the hotel. It is all online, we were told, but not surprisingly in this area "signals" are a rare event. One definite defect the lack of visible signage when approaching the entrance from the east. There is a green sign, but it blends into the hedges and is too small.



"Beautiful Venue and Delicious Food"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: February 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We stayed at Hipping Hall on a package with an upgraded room, half bottle of champagne, 8 course taster menu and breakfast. We also booked in for afternoon tea and spent a lovely rainy afternoon, playing dominos and jenga in the lounge. We had a really nice time and the food in the restaurant was amazing and the waiters and bar staff really looked after us.

The only negative was that the room we stayed in was quite cold, we informed reception when we went for dinner and they took our key and said they would see to it while we ate. However, the receptionist never brought they key back and we were enjoying ourselves sat in the lounge with a nightcap and forgot too, the bar staff left for the evening and there was no one on reception, we realised we were locked out of our room. We found the number for the hotel on the website and called and the receptionist came and gave our key and we went back to our room no problem. The following morning at check out it felt very awkward which was bizarre and we left feeling a bit puzzled.

Apart from that, we had a fabulous stay, with delicious food and wine and would definitely return.



"Anniversary friends, East Yorkshire"

StarStarStarStarStar KG, North Humberside, stayed: November 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Amazing food. Fabulous staff. Nothing too much trouble. Very professional but relaxed.
Rooms very comfortable, good bed linen and towels . Bath a bit difficult to get into but shower with choice of heads really good.



StarStarStarStarStar Keith, Lancashire, stayed: October 2017 Show more...


"Excellent Hotel"

StarStarStarStarStar Phil, Shropshire, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I cannot praise this hotel enough. The room, staff and the restaurant were all superb. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wishes to stay in this beautiful part of the county. I'll give it 10 as Len would say on strictly.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Excellent stay in lovely surroundings with good food and friendly, welcoming and helpful staff



"57 th wedding anniversary in luxury"

StarStarStarStarStar JF, Lancashire, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again



"Restaurant"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

We did not like the multiple courses of tiny bits of food, or the fact that the same options were available on both nights.  We would rather have two or three decent size courses and be able to choose our food (a la carte) rather than be presented with a limited choice (two options).  We thought the process of two people bringing in each course, one holding a tray and the other taking from the tray and putting on the table, a ridiculous pantomime.  We thought the raising of the cutlery onto a stone block, in the interests of hygiene according to the waiter, was also a bit ridiculous, as the tablecloths were clean and the blocks, who knows???



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Cumbria & The Lakes, England
Bowness on Windermere

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    July 2018
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594