MENU
 
Book
Now
Down Hall
Down Hall nr Bishops Stortford, East Anglia

4* country hotel and spa just 45 minutes from Central London

Member since 2011

Down Hall

Down Hall Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 157 reviews Member since 2011

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

157 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Lovely 2 night break"

StarStarStarStarStar FH, Lincolnshire, stayed: April 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

It was our 4th visit to Down Hall. The bedrooms are very spacious and the beds very comfortable, the public areas are also well furnished and comfortable. Well kept outside space and we really like the fact that there is no road noise whatsoever. The staff are friendly and nothing was too much trouble. If we had a critism at all it would be the lack of vegetables with our evening meal, but that said, the food was good. The starters and desserts could have been slightly larger for the price. Breakfast was really very good. Plenty of choice and continuous replenishment. Very commendable. I am sure we will return again in the future.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: April 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

My stay was excellent value for money. The spa facilities were very limited, a steam room and a sauna, no swimming pool. The grounds were lovely but the length of the signposted walks was disappointing. The selection of food for a coeliac for breakfast was disappointing for a four star hotel.
The public areas are lovely and the staff very helpful.



"Jacqui"

StarStarStarStarStar Jacqui, stayed: March 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights for our anniversary, there was a lovely welcome plate with an anniversary message and mousse cake on arrival,which was a very nice touch.

Our room was beautiful, sparkling clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was huge with a bath and walk in shower. The complimentary bottle of water each day was also very welcome.

Dinner in the Grill Restaurant was lovely, I had the saddle of lamb the first night and skate on the second. My husband had the pork and the lamb the second night as he had food envy when he saw my lamb!. Each dish was very well prepared and presented with precision with the taste matching the presentation

Breakfast was buffet style although there were items like smoked salmon etc that could be ordered. I ordered poached eggs and haddock the second morning, but unfortunately it wasn't great. The eggs were over cooked as was the fish. The dish came with no garnish and just looked like a bland blob in the centre of the plate. This was the only negative regarding the food.

There is a lovely bar which did the most amazing cocktails, and the area was peaceful and relaxing.

The grounds at Downhall are very nice and the ambience of the hotel was very romantic with terraces to sit outside.

We visited the spa, which was spotlessly clean, however I think this should be complimentary as opposed to the 20 payable. That said, there is another sauna, steam and gym in the basement of the hotel which is complimentary. We went midweek and there was plenty of space, however I can imagine that weekends would be busy resulting in having to wait to get in.

With regards to the location of the hotel, it is rather secluded and those without a car would have difficulty getting about outside the hotel.

All in all we had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend Downhall for a romantic break, and will be returning.



"Wonderful wonderful stay"

StarStarStarStarStar JP, North Yorkshire, stayed: March 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We stayed here for our 41st Wedding Anniversary, and it was beyond our expectations.
A truly wonderful stay which made us feel all fuzzy inside!!!!
The staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble.
I (Mrs) am in a electric wheelchair and again this was no trouble to the hotel. Exceptional rooms with loads of space for my chair



"Beautiful character hotel."

StarStarStarStarStar KP, stayed: February 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Wonderful time was had by us both. No problems or issues.



"Anniversary"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: January 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We spent one night at this lovely hotel celebrating our wedding anniversary. Lovely touch that chocolates were in our room on arrival, Enjoyed spa treatments and a very relaxed stay. Room was superb.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: December 2018 Show more...


StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: December 2018 Show more...


Other UK hotels that may be of interest

East Anglia, England
Lavenham

View more details & offers

East Anglia, England
nr Ipswich

View more details & offers

Hertfordshire & Buckinghamshire, England
Apsley, Herts

View more details & offers

Hertfordshire & Buckinghamshire, England
 

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    April 2019
S M T W T F S
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 1 2 3 4



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594