MENU
 
Book
Now
Down Hall
Down Hall nr Bishops Stortford, East Anglia

4* country hotel and spa just 45 minutes from Central London

Member since 2011

Down Hall

Down Hall Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 164 reviews Member since 2011

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

164 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Lovely Stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Paul C, Derbyshire, stayed: June 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Lovely hotel,Great Food



"Check the weddings!"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: May 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

We have previously been to this hotel for a wedding! but have returned once (no stay) to visit family and this time to stay and visit family who were also staying. Always a lovely hotel, friendly staff and a good deal. We decided on a Monday hoping to miss any weddings - wrong, there was one. We understand and really don't mind, but if you do, check first.



StarStarStarStarStar NB, Bishop Stortford, stayed: April 2019 Show more...


StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: April 2019 Show more...


"6/10 for Down Hall Stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: April 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Beautiful building and surroundings but there was no champagne in our room on arrival which had been paid for and had to ask reception twice to look into the omission. Not impressed. Did not like the seating arrangements in the restaurant, table are crammed together side by side.

Lovely bedroom and very comfortable bed.



"Not as good as expected"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: April 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Wouldn't go if I knew it's a pets allowed hotel. Lots of dogs all over the place, in bedrooms, on the sofas, eating on the same table as other guests were . I like dogs very much myself but it was too much for me. Some staff very professional others totally the opposite.


Offpeakluxury says...

Dear Anon,

Thank you for your review, although I'm sorry that you were unaware of Down Hall's dog policy.

We do show the hotels in our portfolio which allow pets; while Down Hall is dog friendly, dogs are only allowed in select numbers of guest bedrooms and the restaurant terrace, not any of the other public areas.

Should you wish to make a reservation in the future, do check for the "Dogs allowed" icon on the home page for each hotel in our portfolio, or please feel free to call us and we will be happy to advise about each hotels' pet policy.

With warm regards,

Offpeakluxury


StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: April 2019 Show more...


"Lovely 2 night break"

StarStarStarStarStar FH, Lincolnshire, stayed: April 2019
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

It was our 4th visit to Down Hall. The bedrooms are very spacious and the beds very comfortable, the public areas are also well furnished and comfortable. Well kept outside space and we really like the fact that there is no road noise whatsoever. The staff are friendly and nothing was too much trouble. If we had a critism at all it would be the lack of vegetables with our evening meal, but that said, the food was good. The starters and desserts could have been slightly larger for the price. Breakfast was really very good. Plenty of choice and continuous replenishment. Very commendable. I am sure we will return again in the future.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

East Anglia, England
Lavenham

View more details & offers

East Anglia, England
nr Ipswich

View more details & offers

Hertfordshire & Buckinghamshire, England
Apsley, Herts

View more details & offers

Hertfordshire & Buckinghamshire, England
 

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    June 2019
S M T W T F S
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 1 2 3 4 5 6



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594