MENU
 
Book Now Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Edinburgh

13th Century romantic castle set in parkland nr Edinburgh

Dalhousie Castle

Dalhousie Castle Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 114 reviews Member since 2015

Edinburgh, Midlothian, EH19 3JB

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

114 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Anniversary Break"

StarStarStarStarStar Dave, Clwyd, stayed: May 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

This was our 2nd visit and this time was just as enjoyable as the first.

Although we are only there for 24 hours we come away feeling very relaxed. The dungeon is amazing and the food is excellent with drinks served in the library first.

The only downside is the spa as if there are already a few people in then you are limited as only 2 loungers .



"This Birthday treat for my partner was a big hit"

StarStarStarStarStar Colin W, Essex, stayed: May 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

The castle was stunning made even better by great weather the staff were friendly and helpful and always seemed to have time to answer questions. The food in the restaurant was lovely with one small problem the lobster starter my partner had was a bit cold but it was not a problem that would stop us coming back to this great location.



"We loved"

StarStarStarStarStar Shelley H, Western Australia, stayed: May 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We loved everything about "our" castle, from the beautiful grounds to the historic ambience of our room to dining in the dungeon restaurant. We highly recommend the high tea served in the orangerie. We would recommend Dalhousie Castle to anyone who is looking for the genuine "castle" expeience or for something a little bit different. Be aware that the castle is located a little way out of Edinburgh and is not easily accessed by public transport.



"A working castle in beautiful setting"

StarStarStarStarStar Susan S, Forfar, stayed: May 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We stayed in a four poster themed room which was lovely the dungeon restaurant was a real treat the staff were all very friendly would definitely recommend a place to go for a romantic treat



"Delightful Dalhousie"

StarStarStarStarStar BR, Tyne and Wear, stayed: April 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Couldn't fault any element of our stay. Can't wait to go back!



"An enchanting atmosphere"

StarStarStarStarStar TR, Northumberland, stayed: April 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Staying in castle within easy reach of Edinburgh was ideal.

The food in the atmospheric Dungeon restaurant was exquisite and in the Orangery was equally appealing.

The spa facilities are superb and travel right into the centre of Edinburgh by a stressless way to visit Auld Reekie.



"John M."

StarStarStarStarStar John M, Cleveland, stayed: April 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We enjoyed everything apart from the stairs and question the staff training in putting an elderly couple in a room at the top of the turret. We would only consider returning if you would guarantee a room at a significantly lower level.


Offpeakluxury says...

Dear Mr Maloney,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Dalhousie Castle.

Had we been made aware of any specific room requirements at the time of booking we would have been happy to check with the hotel in advance of your stay to ensure that a suitable room on a lower floor was allocated to you, especially as there is no lift at Dalhousie Castle.

We are pelased to read that the other elements of your stay were to your satisfaction.

Warmest wishes,

Offpeakluxury


StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: April 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

Very nice location and very quiet. I didn't realise the room would be 3rd floor with many flights to walk up. Being older and reasonably fit it would have helpful to have been aware of this. However the staff were very good to us and were given a lower level room. Very much appreciated as I do have a breathing problem. Loved the aviary area and grounds. It was unfortunate to be involved with a wedding reception going on as we had to walk through some of the guests and past the couple to get to our room.



Dalhousie Castle says...

Thank you for your review of Dalhousie Castle.

We do note in our information about the hotel that there is no lift, and that ground or lower floor rooms can be requested. Should you have any specific room requirements we are always happy to liaise with the hotel to ensure that a suitable room can be allocated for you; alternatively there is a Requests section on the first page of the booking form which can be used should you prefer to book online.

Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Cringletie House Borders & Lanarkshire, Scotland
Peebles, Nr Edinburgh

View more details & offers

Matfen Hall Hotel Yorkshire & The North East, England
nr Newcastle

View more details & offers

Eshott Hall Yorkshire & The North East, England
 

View more details & offers

Carberry Tower Castle and Estate Edinburgh, Scotland
nr Musselburgh

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    June 2018
S M T W T F S
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594