MENU
 
Book
Now
Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Devon & Cornwall

Iconic luxury castle in the heart of Devon's Dartmoor National Park

Member since 2014

Bovey Castle

Bovey Castle Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 42 reviews Member since 2014

Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England, TQ13 8RE

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

42 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"We enjoyed a great stay!"

StarStarStarStarStar MG, Wiltshire, stayed: June 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

A lovely hotel in a stunning location, with a very friendly atmosphere. The staff could not have been more helpful, friendly or attentive. Great attention to detail in every respect. The food was tasty & well presented. Our castle room was excellent with glorious views. We enjoyed our stay so much, we booked an extra night!



"Relaxing break"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: June 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We were booked in for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay immensely. The whole stay was made an enjoyable and pleasant experience by the welcoming and helpful staff. We hope to come again.



"Special break"

StarStarStarStarStar AB, Surrey, stayed: May 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Had a wonderful break at Bovey Castle in May. Beautiful weather. Staff were welcoming and attentive. Hotel very comfortable. Room excellent..requested a quiet room. Restaurants were first class as was the food. Unusually we never left the hotel such was the level of interest and activity (golf! ) . Golf
professional and staff were great. Very helpful. Course was in immaculate condition.



"We'll be back"

StarStarStarStarStar C, Berkshire, stayed: May 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

The hotel is lovely ,set in beautiful grounds.
We all really enjoyed our stay . The staff were excellent and we were made to feel very welcome.The rooms were comfortable and well decorated. It is not a cheap break but you do feel it is special.
We have been on several long breaks but I have to say this was one of the best.
We will be back.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: May 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

A warning that there was a spend limit to the evening meals in the advert would have been helpful, this was taken off when I explained that I had not been warned. A 'discretionary charge' (tips) of 12.5% is added to the bill. My built-in wardrobe was in the en suite, not a problem although I personally do not like that positioning, BUT the rail was so high I needed a step ladder to hang my clothes up as I was on my own. Extremely helpful housekeeper did her best to solve the problem.


Offpeakluxury says...

Thank you for your review of your stay at Bovey Castle.

We do apologise that there was no indication of the dining allowance on your confirmation, although this was detailed in the offer you saw in the newspaper - following your comments we have ensured that this has been rectified; we would like to thank you for brining this to our attention.

The discretionary service charge can be removed from your bill should you so choose; many restaurants include this automatically.

We are pleased to hear that the issue you encountered with your hanging rail was resolved by the member of staff you spoke with during your stay.

We hope that we may be able to assist you with another break in the future.

Best regards,

Offpeakluxury


"Would Not Go Back"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: April 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

We booked via the Sunday Telegraph offer and thought it sounded pretty good value. However, by the time we left after three days, it cost double. Our first room was so noisy that we had to be moved. The second room was at the back and rather gloomy with no view at all, but the size was OK. The second and third night we did not get fudge in our room or sloe gin and it felt like we were forgotten at the end of a long corridor. The wine in the fine dining room was so expensive that we only had one glass. And we did not know that our dinner allowance was so low that it barely covered the cost of the main course. Plus service charges on top of everything.

The hotel was lovely with beautiful furnishings and comfy lounges. If you have money to throw around, go to Bovey Castle.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: February 2018 Show more...


"Noisy room"

StarStarStarStarStar LW, Dorset, stayed: February 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Stayed for 2 nights. Booked Castle Room (29) but were kept awake the first night due to a fan being left on in the kitchen, just below our room. We were told this should have been switched off at 10pm. We were moved into another room the next day, which was smaller but with lovely views. However we were not offered any form of compensation for this inconvenience (even a complimentary drink with our meal in the restaurant would have been a nice gesture).

The service in the Great Western restaurant was excellent, but meal in the brasserie was rushed.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Devon & Cornwall, England
Maidencombe, South Devon

View more details & offers

Devon & Cornwall, England
Nr Kingsbridge, Devon

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    July 2018
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594