MENU
 
Book Now Welcombe Hotel Spa and Golf Club
Welcombe Hotel Spa and Golf Club Stratford-upon-Avon, Cotswolds

4 star luxury spa hotel near Stratford Upon Avon

Welcombe Hotel Spa and Golf Club

Welcombe Hotel Spa and Golf Club Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 67 reviews Member since 2014

Stratford Upon Avon, Warwickshire, CV37 0NR

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

67 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


StarStarStarStarStar Phil, Bedfordshire, stayed: November 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Excellent hotel, fantastic location, manager Marek really helpful and friendly-nothing was too much for him.  Great relaxing atmosphere, our dog really loved it. Great location, lovely food.  Lovely grounds for walking the dog.  One small criticism- the restaurant menu was the same for the 3 nights we were there, otherwise perfect



"Weekend Stay October"

StarStarStarStarStar RS, Leicestershire, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by friendly reception staff. I asked about the free upgrade. Reception staff explained the standard room was bigger and to see whether that was satisfactory. We were shown to the room to find an awful, dated room with a view over a skip. We returned to the Reception to be shown an upgraded room which was better.  Thankfully I had booked a table in the restaurant by phoning the night before, shame the same couldn't be said for the spa (although not for want of trying). I called the hotel the night before our arrival and attempted to book some treatments. The reception staff told me there was availability for sunday but would not let me book any - assuring me there would be space on my arrival. Once arrived when visiting the spa I was advised they were fully booked all weekend with no availability. They advised me there was nothing I could do.  The spa itself was small and busy - the Jacuzzi was out of order all weekend as was another pool for a period of our stay, which was disappointing but slightly understanding.  Overall the weekend was OK, the hotel itself and grounds are beautiful but definitely not the luxury we expected.



Welcombe Hotel Spa and Golf Club says...

I am ever so sorry to hear of the issues experienced during your stay and that there were problems with booking spa treatments. Unfortunately our spa does get quite booked up for weekends in advance so I am sorry that reception did not make you aware of this when you rang.
I am glad you liked the hotel and I hope you will give us the chance to rectify this on a future stay.

Welcombe Hotel Spa and Golf Club

"Great relaxing break"

StarStarStarStarStar JR, Warwickshire, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

My sister and I stayed for one night on the Sunday night and thought the deal was good value. The room was fabulous and we used the spa facilities which I knew were great before I booked. Jacuzzi was a little cold, but other than that it was perfect! Dinner in the evening was beautifully presented and served very efficiently.
In the morning I had to leave early and a very friendly night manager had made me up a fabulous take-away breakfast.
Thank you so much to all involved in making our stay wonderful!



"Fantastic Buiding, Spa and Grounds let down by poor restaurant"

StarStarStarStarStar Anthony, London, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

To start with the good:

The buildings and grounds are fantastic and views from the restaurant and rooms are wonderful.
On arrival our booked twin room was not available and we were told that we had been upgraded to a 4 poster bed. This was not suitable as I was recovering from a broken shoulder and needed a separate bed. The staff were very understanding and juggled bookings and switched us to a suite with two beds - very impressed.

The spa was excellent but is also used by local members and was very busy on the monday morning, with water aeorobics taking up 90% of the pool and spoiling the quiet ambiance with disco music.

The bad:

The restaurant which is billed as gourmet is poor, The special deal includes a 35 allowance of dinner, this only covers the basic items. The menu is misleading for instance a goats cheese starter turns out to me an airy moose, the 12 hour braised shoulder of lamb is a chopped up tasteless mound of lamb which unfortunately looks more like a tin of dog food. On our second evening the only meat dish on the menu (pork) had run out. As I have a fish allergy and didnt fancy a pea rissotto I was forced to pay an extra 12 for a steak (which was very good). I would rather pay an extra 10 a person per night if that could be spent on better quality food, as the value of the ingredients we were given you would be had pushed to spend more than 5 on.

The bar in a lovely old room was very comfortable, but as a real ale lover was dissapointed that the draught beer ran out early on the saturday evening and was not available at all on Sunday, the alternative being bottles of Black Sheep at 6 each
(currently at 6 for 5 at the local supermarket).



"OK but could be better"

StarStarStarStarStar Nigel S, Surrey, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

2 night stay was OK but room was very average and bathroom tired with mould and needed decor; TV stations were very limited for the level of hotel and didn't work well; no guide; location good and staff very helpful; breakfast very average and ran out of things which was not acceptable; dinner was varied some was really very good but also some poor; my expensive steak was overcooked with soggy chips.  Pity as great location and based on the website and price for 2 nights should have been much better.



"I'm coming back"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

The hotel was great, so too was the spa. The weather helped as we were able to sit out across the golf course and garden. This is the third time I've been and will come back next year.



"Staff shortage"

StarStarStarStarStar Clive J, Hertfordshire, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Few staff in restaurant - long waits. Staff in need of training. Hotel badly in need of refurbishment although our room was ok.



StarStarStarStarStar John, Warwickshire, stayed: July 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

The room upgrade was excellent & helped us in celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary. however we were disappointed to find a very crowded Spa including several screaming children, some of whom were jumping in the pool. No beds were available as all were covered with towels & robes. Things improved after mid-day. We went for lunch which we were advised would be available on arrival but no table reserved for us. Had to wait for 1 hour before it was served!  We booked dinner & found the meal disappointing & below the standard enjoyed on previous occasions under previous ownership. Breakfast was cold & we had to wait for eggs.  Two large parties were noisy, keeping us awake at night & early morning.  The Spa Treatments were first class however which slightly redeemed the whole experience



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

The Lygon Arms Cotswolds, England
 

View more details & offers

Ettington Park Hotel Cotswolds, England
Stratford Upon Avon

View more details & offers

The Wood Norton Cotswolds, England
Evesham

View more details & offers

The Manor at Weston-On-The-Green Cotswolds, England
Oxfordshire

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    December 2017
S M T W T F S
26 27 28 29 30 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.