MENU
 
Book Now The Wood Norton
The Wood Norton Evesham, Cotswolds

Stylish luxury country hotel on the northern edge of the Cotswolds

The Wood Norton

The Wood Norton Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 116 reviews Member since 2006

Evesham, WR11 4YB

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

116 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Fabulous"

StarStarStarStarStar Clare G, West Midlands, stayed: November 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We stayed there on 3rd November ....it was a voucher given to us in the summer from family for our BIG birthdays!! thought we'd save it to cheer us up as winter creeps in!!!! It was quiet so we were given an upgraded room. Dorothee themed room absolutely fabulous!!! We did the taster 7 course the kitchen served by the delightfully attentive Magda. Breakfast was !! with quality sourced produce. We had a lovely time!!!



"Very good"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again



StarStarStarStarStar Sandra M, Essex, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Everything fantastic beautiful hotel all great



"Wood Norton"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Lovely location, excellent room, superb dinner and all at an excellent (Daily Telegraph offer) price. One criticism: both our room and the restaurant were badly lit



"Restaurant"

StarStarStarStarStar KM, Kent, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Although the food was good quality after five nights of exactly the same menu we were disappointed we had no other choice. For that reason only we would not return again.



"Enjoyable Stay"

StarStarStarStarStar IR, Kent, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Had a lovely 2 day break, slightly spoilt on the second day by a company taking over all of the hotel filming. We had to have our cream tea in the games room as this was the only room not being used. It was unfortunate for us but I would still recommend the Wood Norton. Our room was very comfortable and the staff friendly.



"Lovely hotel near Evesham with a great package"

StarStarStarStarStar Adrian, West Sussex, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

The arrangements between the booking company and the hotel went very smoothly. This was the first time we have stayed at the Wood Norton. The package was a very attractive one - and delivered all it promised. The history of the hotel (former home of the exiled French royal family and wartime home of the BBC) and its surroundings (especially Croome Court, with its Capability Browne landscape, and the secret wartime RAF Defford) was fascinating. The drive from Sussex to Evesham took us through the heart of the beautiful Cotswolds, So we were a little surprised at first to find that we appeared to be entering a very large building site for a retirement village surrounding the hotel entrance. However that did not interfere in any way with the rest of our stay. No noise or nuisance whatsoever. The house is very interesting architecturally and set in wonderful grounds and gardens. The large terrace has views over the Malvern Hills. The public rooms on the ground floor are spacious, nicely furnished and comfortable.

The reception was charming, and we were delighted to find that we had been allocated a magnificent first floor suite the Hallett, room 102. Although we didn't make it down to the bar for full afternoon tea until 16.40, 10 minutes after service was due to end, the staff were very welcoming and the tea was outstanding.

The restaurants' evening meals were all excellent 2 nights in the bistro and 1 night on the tasting menu in the Old Kitchen restaurant. The only negative was that the set menu of 3 choices in the brasserie was not changed between Wednesday, when we first ate there, and the following Friday.

Breakfast was fine, but improvable. We arrived on the first morning about 09.00 to find that the fruit salad had disappeared and were told that no replacement/refreshment was available. But the other mornings the free-for-all bowl was replaced by individual Kilner Jars of chopped fruit which worked fine. The berry compote was gorgeous. The breakfast menu choice seems heavily in favour of egg-lovers which we are not. When we asked if there was a fish alternative, such as poached haddock, we were told not, as the Arnold Bennett omelette was the only fish dish. The coffee at breakfast was pretty indifferent dark, wet and warm, but not much else. Fresh cafetieres would be an improvement. The cooked breakfast was excellent, but was served too soon after ordering, before we had finished our cereals.

During our stay, two weddings took place and a third was being prepared for. The way the hotel has organised the separate Orangery as the wedding venue is excellent. We were able to enjoy watching families clearly having a good time, and a memorable experience, without in any way interfering with our own enjoyment of our stay there.

We only needed to contact reception once to obtain an extension lead to reach to the bedside and that was delivered and rigged up very quickly and efficiently. When we came to settle the bill it was ready and waiting and just consisted of the difference between the wines we had consumed and the allocation of 75 towards them. Very fair and efficient.

We went away very happy with our stay, and have already recommended the hotel to friends.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Thoroughly enjoyable week-end with good food and great service



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Cotswolds, England
Stow-on-the-Wold

View more details & offers

Cotswold House Cotswolds, England
Chipping Campden

View more details & offers

Down Hall East Anglia, England
nr Bishops Stortford

View more details & offers

Ettington Park Hotel Cotswolds, England
Stratford Upon Avon

View more details & offers

Ston Easton Park Dorset & Somerset, England
Nr Bath

View more details & offers

Brockencote Hall Central England, England
Nr Kidderminster

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    December 2017
S M T W T F S
26 27 28 29 30 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.