MENU
 
Book Now The Swan at Bibury
The Swan at Bibury Bibury, Cotswolds

Attractive luxury hotel in the Cotswold village of Bibury

The Swan at Bibury

The Swan at Bibury Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 9 reviews Member since 2003

Gloucestershire, GL7 5NW

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

9 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Couldn't do better!"

StarStarStarStarStar MS, Cheshire, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Excellent throughout superb customer service lovely food. We felt welcomed and happy. What more could one want?

Taking into account the number of foreign visitors who visit the area they could not fail to be impressed.



"Disappointing Stay"

StarStarStarStarStar NS, Surrey, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Our stay at The Swan was very disappointing particularly as it was termed a 'luxury' break but unfortunately this was not the case due to the following reasons.

We were not shown to our room as on arrival the Receptionist took a phone call and so we were handed our key and told how to find the room.  Our room was very 'tired' with many stains on the carpet and a worn and torn duvet cover, (I do have photos of both.)  We booked our first dinner in the restaurant which was delicious, however, on ordering steak and being asked how we would like it cooked, were rather stunned to receive an extremely unwelcome reply from the waiter of 'if you want to destroy it'; this was rather embarrassing and very unwelcome, also there were other guests next to us who possibly heard.  I was also rushed at dinner to finish one of my courses as the waiter stood by me with my next course. Unhappily, this also happened the next morning at breakfast. I do not expect to come away for a relaxing break to be hurried along with my meal.
The cooked breakfast was also disappointing it was rather dried up and felt as though it had been cooked very much in advance. All in all, a very disappointing stay as it was a break we had been looking forward to for a long time.  We went away last year (again using a 'Voucher') to a different hotel near Bath and our hotel experience was far above The Swan in every way, we had no complaints whatsoever.



The Swan at Bibury says...

Thank you for your honest review and feedback but I am extremely disappointed to hear of your experience with us on this occasion.

Having been with the company for 15 years, I have recently taken over as General Manager here at this beautiful property and since your stay, I have conducted many Bedroom Audits which have rectified issues you mention. Please accept my apologies that things were not right for you in your room on arrival.

I was disappointed to hear of your experience at dinner where you felt the food / service to be rushed and there were some unnecessary comments regarding your choice of how the steak was to be cooked.

Please accept my apologies that this break away with us was not the experience as intended and please rest assured that this certainly is not the standard by which we look after our guests normally.

Despite our best efforts, occasionally things can go wrong in hotels however I would have been only too pleased to speak to you in person during your stay with us or upon check out.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

"Lovely Hotel"

StarStarStarStarStar Robin, Oxfordshire, stayed: March 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

From arrival to departure was really lovely, I can't fault the hotel or staff. Trumpeters Cottage was amazing, so comfortable. Early morning stroll in Bibury was bliss too.



"The Swan at Bibury"

StarStarStarStarStar JE, Bath, stayed: October 2015
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Beautiful location, hotel very comfortable, staff efficient and helpful, food in bar good. Enjoyed a relaxing stay in good situation for sightseeing.



"Feedback"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: September 2015
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Second visit to the Swan and enjoyed very much although we felt that the dining room lacked a bit of atmosphere in the evening and the time waiting for our meal was rather long considering there were few people dining. Our last evening we ate in the bar section but again our waiting time along with other diners was an hour and no-one during that time came and gave any reason for the delay and when we did eventually get our meal and enquired as to the delay the reply we got was 'technical issues'



"Luxurious romantic break in the most picturesque village I have ever seen"

StarStarStarStarStar Alison, Wednesbury, stayed: September 2015
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I surprised my husband for his birthday and we had a one night stay in the amazing Whooper Cottage with its own private garden and hot tub. The place is amazing, decorated luxuriously with added extras over two floors, I could easily live there. The hotel is lovely and staff can't do enough to help, the evening meal was delicious and we had breakfast in our room the next morning. Bibury itself is the most picturesque postcard village I have ever seen, we were torn between walking around the lovely village and gardens and getting the most out of our beautiful cottage, must return



"A delightful hotel"

StarStarStarStarStar Judy, East Grinstead, stayed: June 2015
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Had a relaxing time at the Swan. The food was delicious and the restaurant staff were lovely.



"A special stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: May 2015
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I booked this hotel as a surprise present for my husbands 60th birthday on our way to Cotswolds Water Park. The welcome was a little ruined by another client, who was insisting on being helped with an internet connection whilst the receptionist was trying to book us in. I felt the receptionist could have been firmer with the other customer, but it was a difficult situation. Other than that we loved the hotel, location and the food was outstanding.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Hatton Court Cotswolds, England
Upton St Leonards

View more details & offers

The Hare and Hounds Cotswolds, England
Nr Tetbury

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    October 2017
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.