MENU
 
Book Now The Horn of Plenty
The Horn of Plenty Tavistock, Devon, Devon & Cornwall

Stunning luxury country hotel in the heart of Devon

The Horn of Plenty

The Horn of Plenty Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 8 reviews Member since 2013

Tavistock, Devon, PL19 8JD

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

8 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Lovely location"

StarStarStarStarStar Hampshire, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

We stayed at this hotel expecting a first class experience, as it was one of the most expensive in the area. We loved the beautiful room in the coach house, but were very disappointed in the very tired and dated restaurant, it spoilt our experience as the food was also very average. We stayed two nights and the breakfast we ordered was wrong both mornings! We felt it was not value for the money they asked.



The Horn of Plenty says...

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here at the Horn of Plenty.

While I am pleased that you found the room in the coach house to be beautifully appointed, we are truly sorry to read that we failed to impress in other areas on this occasion.
Both the restaurant manager and head chef have been made aware of your comments and we will be investigating the ordering issues further so as to fully understand the situation and prevent future recurrence.

Please feel free to contact the hotel should you wish to add more detail to this review or discuss your experience further.

Kind Regards

Candace Van Der Westhuizen

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: September 2017 Show more...


"A real treat!"

StarStarStarStarStar FW East Sussex, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We would thoroughly recommend the Horn of Plenty - we had a really lovely, luxurious stay with wonderful views over the valley as we ate absolutely delicious, beautifully served and presented meals. Thank you



"Glorious position overlooking Tamar Valley"

StarStarStarStarStar AH, London, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We paid in full in advance, so were somewhat concerned when presented with a bill for well over £950. Fortunately it was an admin error, so there was nothing to pay, this was dealt with quickly and efficiently. Lovely position, super food, good room - the other thing they had not arranged very successfully was the weather!! Would definitely stay again, when we have saved up enough!!



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: September 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

A comfortable stay, lovely area. Food was good and staff very friendly and helpful.
Room comfortable, very good bathroom comfortable bed. Pity only window opened on to a tiny balcony too small to sit out on. Rather annoying to see we could have got the same break for less than half the price we paid if we had gone the following week, but expect this is what happens with offers, some better than others maybe to book nearer the time of the break?


Offpeakluxury says...

Thank you for your feedback. 

Following our discussion concerning the reduced rate in October it has been established that you misunderstood the rates on our website and there is only a small difference in price to September, due to a change of season.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. 

Kind regards

Offpeakluxury 

 


"Fabulous rooms, food and location"

StarStarStarStarStar PK, Hampshire, stayed: April 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We had a brilliant stay in this delightful country retreat. The food was superb. We enjoyed the seafood evening which included course wines. The following evening we had the marvellous 6 course taster menu and wines. We're not disappointed. The rooms in the coach house are very decadent !

We can't wait to visit again.



"Cheam traveller"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: October 2015
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Really enjoyed our stay here in beautiful and relaxing surroundings. The food was superb and the service excellent. The room however, although an upgrade, was a little disappointing. We were in the main house in a huge bedroom above the front door. The en suite bathroom was very cramped, so much so that when sitting on the loo you had to be careful not to get burned by the adjacent radiator. The shower was an over bath arrangement which wasn't very well sealed so the floor got soaked aswell.



The Horn of Plenty says...

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay at the Horn of Plenty. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and found the staff and service excellent.
Thank you for bringing the bathroom issues to my attention. Our maintenance manager has been notified of the problem with the shower seal and will rectify the issue immediately. Further to your comments, the maintenance team are also working on moving the bathroom radiator to a position better suited.
I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Candace Van Der Westhuizen
Head Receptionist

"Just Right"

StarStarStarStarStar Michael T, Berkshire, stayed: July 2015
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Firstly the staff - all young but showed a maturity of professional service beyond their years and made us feel relaxed.  Lovely room, great size, large bathroom with huge bath.  Brilliant location and how the garden and grounds are kept.  The food was the real star - and it was designed, prepared, served with care & passion.  Can't wait to go back



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Orestone Manor Devon & Cornwall, England
Maidencombe, South Devon

View more details & offers

Buckland Tout Saints Devon & Cornwall, England
Nr Kingsbridge, Devon

View more details & offers

Northcote Manor Devon & Cornwall, England
Burrington

View more details & offers

   
Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    October 2017
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.