MENU
 
Book Now Stoke Place
Stoke Place Stoke Poges, Hertfordshire & Buckinghamshire

Stylish luxury country hotel in Buckinghamshire

Stoke Place

Stoke Place Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 15 reviews Member since 2012

Buckinghamshire, SL2 4HT

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

15 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


StarStarStarStarStar Mark M, East Sussex, stayed: June 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Really enjoyable stay, great staff, excellent food..



"Beautiful hotel in an amazing setting"

StarStarStarStarStar Karen G, Buckinghamshire, stayed: June 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Very quiet and restful stay for our wedding anniversary. Restaurant manager to be commended for his excellent customer service and the chef for superb food. Lovely touch to end the meal was a slate with anniversary wishes piped in icing together with chocolates to finish the evening leisurely with our coffees. Room very comfortable and clean . Gardens and lake views well worth a stroll after breakfast.  Looking forward to another visit soon.



"NICE BREAK"

StarStarStarStarStar SS, stayed: May 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

NICE BREAK - MADE GOOD BY BEING UPGRADED INTO A NICER ROOM.  HOTEL WAS TOO QUITE FOR US - WE HAD 3 MEALS THERE AND ONLY ONCE SAW ANOTHER TABLE BEING USED.
WEDDING VENUE WOULD BE FAB - BUT WE HAVE STAYED IN BETTER "OFF PEAK LUXURY HOTELS."



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: February 2017 Show more...


"Overnight Anniversary stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: September 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Very helpful friendly staff. Our room was the Bridal suite which was roomy with a very large comfortable bed.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant "Seasons". The food was superb and the staff attentive but not intrusive.
Breakfast the next morning was also excellent. Nice to have our cooked full English served to us and not buffet service.



"Fantastic hotel"

StarStarStarStarStar Debbie S, Norfolk, stayed: August 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed with our choice. We were upgraded to a suite which had a 4 poster and a roll top bath. Afternoon tea was amazing and so was our evening meal and breakfast, probably one of the best for fine dining. Location was great just 15 minutes from Windsor!
All in all a fantastic weekend and will definitely return



"Service"

StarStarStarStarStar Brian C, Hertfordshire, stayed: July 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Booked a luxury night away at £135pp. Arrived at reception and the welcome was pretty bland. We were then informed that the the time I had agreed for dinner through off peak was not available and we would have to move forward to 7pm or wait until 9pm. Not an auspicious start. Arrived in the room and it was lovely with high ceilings a very comfortable bed and a free standing bath and his and hers basin in bathroom area. However the chilled champagne was nowhere to be seen. I waited 30 mins before calling reception. They said did I want it in the bar rather than the room, I replied no and asked if there was a problem having in the room, No problem but we then waited another 30 mins before calling again to be told " Haven't you received it yet? I will chase bar again" Not an auspicious start. Champagne then arrived followed 10 mins later by some chocolates presumably as an apology for delay. Dinner was very enjoyable and very well presented. Only issue was the bill afterwards as we were charged for the coffee even though it was part of package. Resolved quickly but another example of the staff not knowing the package we were on. We went for a pleasant stroll in grounds before going to the bar. The barman was the same as the other staff unable to raise a welcoming smile or pleasant manner when asking us what we wanted. After a good nights sleep we ordered breakfast in the room which was also very nice. It was a nice night away but the Management need to realise that people won't return to those prices unless they are made to feel welcome and special.



"Not as good as the first visit..."

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: June 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

I returned to Stoke Park for the second time & although I have visited before I found that the staff on arrival just assumed we knew where all the facilities were. The restaurant has now moved to the 2nd floor & although much larger I had to complain about my main course as it was over cooked. They were also unaware of the booking I made for the restaurant made via offpeakluxury (apparently).
We were meant to get a glass of champagne on arrival, but didn't receive this until we sat down for dinner?
The building was very noisy with one of us being by the kitchen & another by the laundry cupboard & the rooms were very stuffy. Putting the air conditioning on just made the room very noisy every 30 mins when it kicked in.
I understand the new owners are looking to refurbish the hotel which I think is needed, with guests being away from staff areas, so they can relax & enjoy their stay. My previous visit I overlooked the grounds & this was far more peaceful. Such a shame as I thoroughly enjoyed my last visit & this was for a birthday.  On departing, the duty manager did listen to my comments. I would be interesting to visit again, once the transformation has taken place.


Offpeakluxury says...

Thank you for your feedback. 

We are disappointed to hear that you experienced some issues during your stay.  We can assure you that we requested quiet rooms and had reserved a table for dinner at 7:30 pm when the booking was made so we are very sorry that these requests were not carried out. 

It is a shame that this stay was not as good as your previous one.  Your comments have been forwarded to the hotel so any necessary action can be taken.  

Kind regards

Offpeakluxury

 

 


Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Hartwell House & Spa Hertfordshire & Buckinghamshire, England
Nr Aylesbury

View more details & offers

Woodlands Park Hotel South East England, England
Cobham

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    October 2017
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.