MENU
 
Book Now Priest House Hotel
Priest House Hotel Castle Donnington, nr Derby, Central England

4* historic country hotel in Derbyshire

Priest House Hotel

Priest House Hotel Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 26 reviews Member since 2009

Castle Donnington, Nr Derby, DE74 2RR

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

26 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Priest House Hotel"

StarStarStarStarStar LF, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

A beautiful house in a lovely position on the banks of the river. Our room was part of a row of cottages with views over the grounds and the water. The accommodation was good and had a wardrobe off the main room but there was no drawer space. We had to gain access around the back and up iron steps through a very uncared for area.  We'd booked the fine dining menu and on the first night the food was good and served in the main restaurant by a very attentive waiter. Breakfast was also good and served in the same place. Our wedding anniversary was the 2nd night and we headed for the restaurant to find it closed without any warning. We had to eat in the bar which was alright but totally lacked the ambience of the first night. Whilst the food was from the same menu it lacked the presentation we had enjoyed.  Breakfast the following morning was an ordeal and we had to send back the smoked salmon as the scrambled eggs were cold and not as described on the menu and served by an unsympathetic waitress.  It's a lovely place but we were disappointed with the attention to detail. On our second night there was a wedding and a private party and this may have had something to do with the reduction in service levels.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: July 2017 Show more...


"Short Break."

StarStarStarStarStar Michael, North Yorkshire, stayed: May 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Good hotel. Staff very pleasant especially the guy on reception and the exceptional young man who served us lunch and dinner. Apparently he hasn't been there very long but is certainly a credit to the hotel. Sorry I unfortunately have forgotten their names. Nothing was too much trouble for either of the above mentioned guys.

The room was fine except for a couple of things. The lighting and lack of mirrors in the right position for ladies who want to put makeup on, was terrible! The socket for the hairdryer was in the wrong place as mentioned no mirror!!! Apparently this is something the hotel is aware of.



"Birthday Surprise"

StarStarStarStarStar John, Wiltshire, stayed: May 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I would just like to congratulate the staff for their efforts in making our stay a memorable one, from making sure our rooms were located near to each other, to ensuring our evening Birthday Bash went off with a bang?

Any request we asked of them was greeted with a can do attitude, and big smiles all round. If this hotel has any short comings and I don't believe it has, they are most certainly cancelled out by the strong team who work their.



"A rather soulless hotel"

StarStarStarStarStar RP, County Durham, stayed: January 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

We went through the entrance into a hall which had an unmarked counter on our left. It looked like a cloakroom counter and the staff were behind the scenes but came out as we looked round and asked someone in a corridor for reception. The staff were all very helpful. Our room was fine. Apart from the two of us, the restaurant was empty, until three German businessmen came in. The car park had filled up after our arrival but we were told that everyone else (they mostly seemed to be people on business) was eating in the bar. Our food was very good as was the accompanying wine. Likewise our breakfast was very good too.
To us, the hotel seemed rather sterile and soulless, quite unlike the other Off Peak Luxury hotels in which we have stayed. A combination of the weather (wet), time of year and the location at the end of a country road, on the banks of an uninviting River Trent, probably did not help.



"Peace and quiet"

StarStarStarStarStar Helen D, Avon, stayed: December 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Very peaceful. Good food. Good service. Spotless. Everything you could wish for in a short break.



"Very good hotel"

StarStarStarStarStar AP, Staffordshire, stayed: December 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We booked a special package and everything was excellent staff were very friendly and efficient.
Room was great, and the evening meal had a great choice.



"Celebratory break before Christmas"

StarStarStarStarStar Helen, Warwickshire, stayed: December 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Had a wonderful experience from beginning to end.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Wood Hall Hotel & Spa Yorkshire & The North East, England
Nr Harrogate

View more details & offers

Clumber Park Hotel & Spa Central England, England
Sherwood Forest

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    October 2017
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.