MENU
 
Book Now Orestone Manor
Orestone Manor Maidencombe, South Devon, Devon & Cornwall

Luxury country hotel with sea views in Devon

Orestone Manor

Orestone Manor Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 142 reviews Member since 2013

Rock House Lane, Devon, TQ1 4SX

4.5
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

142 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Excellent"

StarStarStarStarStar NW, Dorset, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Very little to add to my overall impression. service and food were superb and it exceeded our expectations.



"Garden Suite"

StarStarStarStarStar David, Staffordshire, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Quiet, Private, Comfortable, Great Hot Tub, Superb Views.



"An underwhelming experience, in particular the evening meals and the restaurant accommodation "

StarStarStarStarStar Thomas, Gloucestershire, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

The rooms in the Coach House were of a good standard as was to be expected in a new build. The absence of a hand (wall) rail in the shower or above the bath was a concern. We found the evening meals were generally over portioned and lacked finesse. Haunch of venison served with over salted celeriac / fondant potato on the first evening was an unfortunate introduction. Another evening half a lobster was accompanied by two sliced tomatoes, green beans, salad leaves, potatoes, feta cheese and pine nuts plus, not on the menu, beetroot and olives, all of which overwhelmed the lobster .On three of our seven evenings we were seated in a lobby adjacent to the restaurant which was stark and not overly warm, an unexpected experience .



"A perfect relaxing stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Sally & Peter, Northamptonshire, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

From the very moment we drove into the car park at Orestone Manor, we were made to feel special. The friendly and warm service we received was first class from start to finish. The food was generous and so-so delicious, I am sure we ate more than we would normally just because every mouthful was so scrumptious. The room had beautiful views to the sea, beyond the lush greenery of the tree canopy and gardens. The room was lovely and quiet and comfortable so we had a good nights sleep. There are some really nice walks from the hotel to help work off the luscious food and give you a good appetite for the evening meal. It was a really relaxing and luxurious break and we'd highly recommend Orestone Manor.



"Two night mid week stay at Orestone Manor"

StarStarStarStarStar RN, Surrey, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Welcoming friendly efficient staff. Our room was large and the decor and furnishings were excellent.  The food was of a very high standard with an interesting and inclusive menu.There is a lovely beach nearby and there are plenty of places of interest within easy reach. Our stay was very pleasant and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel



"A wonderful holiday in Devon"

StarStarStarStarStar John W, Nottinghamshire, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

An absolute gem of a hotel with devoted and attentive staff at all levels. Otherwise, please see comments in your rating table.



"WOW!!!"

StarStarStarStarStar Nigel H, Middlesex, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I can best summarise this review by my wife's comments once we got back home "it was lovely, superb, met every expectation I had from the website". Our expectations from the website were exceedingly high and I have to concur with my wife that Orestone Manor met these expectations in full.

Given that the entire Orestone experience is so enjoyable, it is difficult to know what should be particularly mentioned for this review. It may seem an odd thing to mention, but the attention to detail here was so fine that we even noticed how luxurious the towels were.

The dining was quite divine, most proven by the fact there seemed to be a large number of local guests for dinner each evening, not just hotel residents. To draw local diners, who will have needed to drive (in most cases) to the venue must be a very positive endorsement.

I really could rave about this place for aeons as there is so much to be commended, but it would be unfair for me to prevent you from planning how you can schedule a visit. I am sure you will not be disappointed.

So, excellent in every way but the one thing I found slightly less pleasing was that we were not that fond of the brand of coffee served. That is a personal taste matter, I suppose, and I prefer a smoother blend. Given how great the service was, I am sure that had I asked there would have been a choice of alternate coffee blends available, but it did seem rather churlish to ask.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and yearn to return.



StarStarStarStarStar DG, Gloucestershire, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

An excellent 3 night stay at this charming country house. Very comfortable large bedroom andbathroom . Very good dining room with first class food; Best breakfasts ever!
Would highly recommend. THANKYOU.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Mount Somerset Hotel & Spa Dorset & Somerset, England
Nr Taunton

View more details & offers

Bovey Castle Devon & Cornwall, England
 

View more details & offers

Buckland Tout Saints Devon & Cornwall, England
Nr Kingsbridge, Devon

View more details & offers

The Horn of Plenty Devon & Cornwall, England
Tavistock, Devon

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    November 2017
S M T W T F S
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 1 2



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.