MENU
 
Book Now Matfen Hall Hotel
Matfen Hall Hotel nr Newcastle, Yorkshire & The North East

Stunning luxury Manor House Hotel & Spa in Northumberland

Matfen Hall Hotel

Matfen Hall Hotel Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 35 reviews Member since 2013

Matfen, Newcastle, NE20 0RH

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

35 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Wonderful Stay"

StarStarStarStarStar JW, Lincs, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We stayed here for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary and we had a wonderful time. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was in the Library which was a delightful room and the food was delicious. We stayed in Room 2, which overlooked the golf course, in the main part of the hotel and it was gorgeous, so spacious and all furnishings and bathroom were 1st class. We would certainly recommend this hotel for a romantic break with lovely surrounding countryside.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: July 2017 Show more...


"Idyllic surroundings"

StarStarStarStarStar Nicola B, stayed: July 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We came here for a 2 night stay at the beginning of July (Sun and Mon night) and had an excellent room that looked over the golf course in front of the hotel. Our room was very spacious and so was the shower room - could have been a room by itself! Gym was well equipped and great spa area around a decent sized pool. Lovely little village that was close by - just through the churchyard from the back of the hotel. Hotel grounds were stunning and the arrangement of conference and wedding venue away from the main hotel is well thought out. Excellent breakfast with cooked items brought to the table and cold buffet of high quality fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastries etc. Dinner was also very good except I am gluten free and the chef didn't amend some of the menu so if you were staying more than 3 days your choice would be limited. Also they made a mistake with my meal and brought some pastry on it. Need to up the game on this (and offer nibbles while you are having a drink that are GF). I hate feeling like there isn't anything I can have and it rarely happens when you have a chef preparing meals from scratch.



StarStarStarStarStar Chris, Stirlingshire, stayed: May 2017 Show more...


"Most excellent experience"

StarStarStarStarStar Richard G, Tyne and Wear, stayed: February 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I stayed here because my daughter bought me a voucher for two nights after she and her family stayed here on a visit last year. I found it to be a most enjoyable experience with really good food and very helpful staff. It was a pleasant surprise to arrive at the checkout to find the bill for extras was very reasonable, and not the rip off sometimes presented at equivalent hotels. I highly reccommend this hotel.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: October 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Lovely hotel set in fabulous grounds . Food in restaurant was excellent.



"Matfen Hall weekend"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: October 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Fantastic stay with friends to celebrate my birthday. The rooms were excellent, the food delicious and the staff very welcoming. Would highly recommend it.



"First Class Break"

StarStarStarStarStar George, Hampshire, stayed: September 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

A warm welcome from the staff, a very large room with views over the golf course, and a first class afternoon tea in the restaurant, followed by a sauna, steam and swim. The perfect start to our break at Matfen Hall.  First class place, attentive staff, but not stuffy. Excellent restaurant. What more do you need?

In easy reach for our visits to Hadrians Wall and Beamish. A great choice. Would definitely go back.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Cringletie House Borders & Lanarkshire, Scotland
Peebles, Nr Edinburgh

View more details & offers

Swinton Park Yorkshire & The North East, England
Near Ripon

View more details & offers

Headlam Hall Yorkshire & The North East, England
nr Darlington

View more details & offers

Raithwaite Estate Yorkshire & The North East, England
 

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    October 2017
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.