MENU
 
Book Now Lovelady Shield
Lovelady Shield Alston, Cumbria & The Lakes

Charming Country House Hotel in Cumbria

Lovelady Shield

Lovelady Shield Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 8 reviews Member since 2004

Alston, Cumbria, CA9 3LF

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

8 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Birthday Night Away"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: August 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Not well signposted, very poor drive up to hotel. Made welcome at reception, shown to our room straight away. Room spacious but a little tired. The taster meal was excellent but found the pairing wine expensive, we went for a bottle of house Champagne, again expensive. A large glass of wine in the bar £8.50 and a bottle of Italian lager £6 a bit too much. We enjoyed the taster meal and the breakfast was lovely. When we retired to bed there was no water, we had to go down to reception and they gave us a jug of water to brush our teeth, couldn't flush the toilet even the next morning waited 5 minutes between each flush apparently they clean the filters at night surely they should wait until everyone is in bed.



Lovelady Shield says...

First we are pleased that you enjoyed the taster meal. The wine pairings are very carefully made to match and complement the food. Compared to many other offerings our wine flight price is very competitive. As far as our wines go we have over 20 bottles under £25 to choose from and our house wines by the glass are chosen carefully for you to enjoy.
As far as the water situation was concerned it was a guest that had left a tap running and completely drained the header tanks which take a very long time to fill. Initially we thought the filters needed changing and that is what we did to little effect. It was only when we found the permanent tap which was left on did we get to the bottom of things.
For that and our very embarrassed guest we are truly sorry.

"First visit - 26/07/2016 to 28/07/2016"

StarStarStarStarStar Edward, Northumberland, stayed: July 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

The staff, restaurant and lounges were all very good and the food was to a very high and enjoyable standard.
However, although the room we were allocated was clean it was looking a little tired. We asked for an upgrade but were told there were no other rooms available on the days we were staying.
The hotel is in a very pleasant and secluded location but the outside facilities, the run down gardens and the outside paintings would certainly benefit from some tender loving care and attention so that people could enjoy the outside as much as the inside lounges.
We received a very good, friendly welcome and a quick and efficient check-out and wouldn't hesitate to go back, in spite of the aforementioned comments - which we hope will be taken in the spirit in which they are intended.



"Relaxing break"

StarStarStarStarStar Graham, Merseyside, stayed: May 2016
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Situated in a lovely part of the country near the village of Alston. Staff very welcoming and helpful.



"Two night stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Jean H, Wigan, stayed: July 2015
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Room, staff, food and area all very good. Will stay again. The cream tea was also lovely.



"peaceful and relaxing"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: June 2015
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We booked a double room last minute to find when we arrived the hotel was fully booked however in these circumstances they utilize a very well appointed 2 bed barn conversion to the rear of the property. Best of both worlds, more space and comfort with all the hotels comforts.



"Lovelady Shield Hotel"

StarStarStarStarStar TF, Co Duram, stayed: February 2015
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We had a really lovely stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and the upgrade for our two night stay was top class. I would definitely recommend.



"A little gem"

StarStarStarStarStar VW, Edinburgh, stayed: October 2014
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Delightful atmospheric hotel with excellent cuisine and welcoming staff. We loved it.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: July 2014 Show more...


Other UK hotels that may be of interest

The Rose and Crown at Romaldkirk Yorkshire & The North East, England
County Durham

View more details & offers

Hipping Hall North West England, England
NW England

View more details & offers

Appleby Manor Cumbria & The Lakes, England
Eden Valley

View more details & offers

Armathwaite Hall Cumbria & The Lakes, England
Bassenthwaite

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    October 2017
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.