MENU
 
Book Now Lords of the Manor
Lords of the Manor Upper Slaughter, Cotswolds

Romantic luxury country hotel in the heart of the Cotswolds

Lords of the Manor

Lords of the Manor Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 37 reviews Member since March 2016

Gloucestershire, GL54 2JD

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

37 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Short break treat"

StarStarStarStarStar NS, South Glamorgan, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We booked via Telegraph offers and it was very good value. The food was first class



StarStarStarStarStar Linda B, West Sussex, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day break. The staff were all welcoming and fantastic, nothing too much trouble.
Food and service in the restaurant were excellent.  Wine very good and a reasonable price too.



"Not what I expected"

StarStarStarStarStar Peter, Buckinghamshire, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

I was phoned a week before our arrival to say that we could not dine on the 2nd night. As the hotel is isolated and there is no taxi service I was forced to book a private hire to a nearby hotel for £30 return. Had I known this I would not have booked the hotel. As it happens the hotel we dined in on the 2nd night was far superior to the Tasting menu at Lords of the Manor on our first night. You should insist that participating hotels reveal this kind of restriction at the time of booking. I wrote to the manager whose reply was insipid. He did not refer to my point that I should have been told at time of booking. Because I had prepaid I would have lost my money if I had wanted to cancel. That is sharp practice on both your part and the hotels'.


Offpeakluxury says...

Thank you for your comments which have been forwarded to the hotel.

The hotel's General Manager is truly sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and is disappointed to hear that it fell short of your expectations.  They do try to accommodate all guests in their restaurant which is why they send out confirmation emails, such as the one you received, so advance table reservations can be made.  This is then followed up by a courtesy call from their reception team which you also received. 

The General Manager would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused and thank you for your feedback and opinions which are greatly appreciated.  

Kind regards

Offpeakluxury 


"Lords of the Manor 2 night stay"

StarStarStarStarStar PT, East Sussex, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Somewhat disappointing overall.  Very poor sound insulation between rooms.  Tasting menu of 5 courses was actually 3 courses without choice plus 2 amuse bouche.  The extremely small portion of Pork was severely undercooked and when it was represented by the kitchen had been merely flashed under heat. i.e. Was not a new serving, it was originally totally inedible, unless your taste is for bloody pork!  At breakfast the hotel is unable to provide baked beans, or marmite surely not too expensive these days!  Omelettes are not an option, and on the second morning the hotel ran out of bread!  Rather underwhelming and disappointing for a hotel with past awards



"Lords of the Manor Hotel"

StarStarStarStarStar I & B Harrison Cleveland, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Enjoyed our 4 night stay, given a free upgrade as requested if possible as it was a Special Birthday, also before 5 course starter menu which was very good, we were given a glass of champagne which was good quality & very much appreciated, after the cheese board a small cake with a candle in was presented to me which made it a very special meal.  Afternoon tea excellent and the service. Reception staff on the desk we found excellent, could not do enough for you even giving you maps and explaining places of interest to us (we left a good tip for them).  Only down side we found the Wine /Spirits expensive so not many people using the bar area after the meal.



"Nice Manor, difficult to find"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

A nice Manor tucked away in nowhere. Very little signage to find it. Not a lot to do in the area. Staff are friendly. The restaurant is nice with very friendly service, food-wise, a bit below Michelin standard, I think.



"Country luxury"

StarStarStarStarStar PH, NSW, stayed: June 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

We have been here a number of times and the food is outstanding. The service in the restaurant is a bit over the top with too many wait staff hovering around all the time.



"Lords of the Manor 2 night stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: June 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Hotel set in beautiful grounds in a lovely Cotswold location.
The staff were friendly and the service very good.
The food was excellent in the restaurant.
Bar meals were served too early and the menu lacked appeal.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Cotswold House Cotswolds, England
Chipping Campden

View more details & offers

Manor House, Castle Combe Bath and Country, England
 

View more details & offers

The Greenway Hotel & Spa Cotswolds, England
nr Cheltenham

View more details & offers

Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath and Country, England
 

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    December 2017
S M T W T F S
26 27 28 29 30 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.