MENU
 
Book Now Lifehouse Spa & Hotel
Lifehouse Spa & Hotel Thorpe-Le-Soken, Essex, East Anglia

4* contemporary spa hotel set in North Essex countryside

Lifehouse Spa & Hotel

Lifehouse Spa & Hotel Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 36 reviews Member since 2013

Thorpe-Le-Soken, CO16 0JD

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

36 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Average spa"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: November 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

I booked this as a birthday present for my partner and it was only our second trip away from our young children.
The warm cookies at the reception was a lovely touch but unfortunately the food at the restaurant was average. I have never sent a dessert back but what was served was dreadful. A tartlet which appeared to have uncooked brown apple slices and thawed but not cooked pastry and split grainy custard. The lobster and beef burger was ok but not amazing and the lobster was over cooked. The staff were very apologetic and offered me a free drink and to refund the dessert. Given the dinner was included in our stay this was a bit of a strange thing to do.
Our treatments were lovely and the therapists were good and friendly, the relaxation rooms were a bit unusual. A mattress on the floor behind a curtain?? Maybe this space could be better used or maybe provide some magazine to read?  The spa facilities themselves were good however given the popularity of this place we basically had to queue for the jacuzzi and there were no loungers available (Fri night). The facilities are showing wear and tear but clean and towels were restocked regularly. Guests seemed happy and relaxed.  The grounds are nice and we were the only ones out on our morning walk. Unfortunately some of the grounds were closed for winter but this Is understandable.  The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the facilities decent however we are unlikely to return.



"Lack of treatments"

StarStarStarStarStar CS, Greater London, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I have stayed at Lifehouse many times over the past few years and recommended it to many friends. This is the first time I have come away disappointed. I called the spa on a number of occasions the week before my stay. No calls were answered and 2 messages left were never returned. When we arrived we were informed no treatments were available and there was no explanation for the lack of customer service.



"Lovely stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We really enjoyed our stay and have highly recommended it to friends and family.

Everything was perfect apart from the service in the bar was very slow. We asked for cake at 5.05pm and was told they stop serving cake at 5pm. We then had a coffee which was so weak we didn't drink it. We then had cocktails which took such a long time to get to us. We asked several times and eventually got them. They were very nice it's just a shame the service had not been great leading up to getting them!!

We could not fault the rest of the stay though. It's such a relaxing place with fab facilities. The grounds are beautiful too. We would definitely return.



"Wonderfully relaxing"

StarStarStarStarStar DF, Suffolk, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

This was our third stay and we love it here (although some of the areas are getting a little tired and could do with a bit of a refurb). Having said that, the ambience is wonderfully relaxing and the hotel is set in gorgeous grounds - lovely for a walk (if you can tear yourself out of your fluffy robe!). We will definitely be back!



"Perfect weekend"

StarStarStarStarStar KJ, Kent, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Me and my friend went here for a weekend of relaxation. We booked two nights is a signature garden room. The room itself was brilliant. HUGE! Opened up onto the gorgeous gardens.
The beds were comfy too- which helps with the perfect nights sleep we had.

The Spa is lovely- it isn't very big, but it is never full- there are always beds to relax on and room to swim in the pool.


The relaxation room upstairs was exactly that- RELAXING. Peaceful and perfect for a little snooze.
I can't fault the restaurant. My friend couldn't have diary, and they went out of their way to make sure she had what she wanted. The chef even made her a chocolate and avocado mousse so she could have pudding.

2 nights was just NOT long enough, and I cannot wait to go back next year for more.



"Spa day"

StarStarStarStarStar Stephen F, Essex, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

A fantastic place to relax and eat. Think the rooms are a little over priced and under furnished. I did complain the fact that we only had 6 coat hangers for all our clothes.  There were no wardrobes, chest of drawers and no bedside cabinets. Where do you put the rest of your clothes I asked reception? This was one of the top rooms, the signature room. Lucky we only stayed for a day. Even though we're not there to watch TV but we go to sleep watching a bit and poss wake up to the news. My 4 year old grandson has a bigger iPad than the TV in the room. Great views across the lake. Sirloin steaks were fantastic. Spa area was very good and all round nice place to be.



Lifehouse Spa & Hotel says...

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed the food, I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the chef. With regards to the rooms, we appreciate that storage is minimal and we are currently looking at how this can be improved on. That being said, we do encourage our guests to pack light as, for most, the majority of their break will be enjoyed in a bathrobe for maximum relaxation. All the TVs in our rooms are due to be upgraded in the near future to include larger screens, especially in the signature rooms where the larger space can make the TVs seem a little lost.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Lifehouse in the future.

With kind regards, The Management Team at Lifehouse

"2 days within easy reach of London"

StarStarStarStarStar Venu, stayed: July 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Overall the stay was good value and enjoyable but a few things could be improved:
- Better signage on the suggested walks as part of it is on a public right of way and its easy to take the wrong path.
- Was really surprised that people were taking photos in the pool and spa! We want to relax in glorious anonymity not feel we are on show!
- Spa reception staff were not that friendly.
- We borrowed wellies for the walk - great idea but there should be easier access to these - we had to climb over a planter!
Would possibly stay again.



Lifehouse Spa & Hotel says...

Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found it good value for money.

With regards to the garden signage, this is something we are aware of and are working on a plan for the new year to add some information panels around the grounds to help better guide our guests to the various routes.

In terms of the use of phones in the spa, we do have a no-phone policy in place as we are very keen for our guests to truly relax and disconnect from the world whilst they are here. However, in this modern age, it is not always possible to prevent people from using their devices. That said, we will soon be fitting some more visible guidelines on our no-phone policy in our relaxation areas which will hopefully encourage people to leave their phones in their room/locker.

Thank you for your feedback with regards to our spa reception staff and our sincere apologies that you didn't find them welcoming. We are constantly training our team to ensure the highest level of service however I will raise this with the spa manager so we can ensure it is looked into. I have also spoken to the reception team to see if we can relocate the wellies store for a more convenient location.

We hope to welcome you back to Lifehouse in the future.

With kind regards, The Management Team at Lifehouse

"Perfect for a Baby Moon..."

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: July 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I wanted to treat my wife to a baby moon, and after much searching, I decided to book Lifehouse Hotel & Spa as their trained therapists are specialists for pregnancy-related matters.

She loved the 90 min massage, and I also made good use of the pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam rooms. We had a garden room and loved the ducks that were hanging about. Although it wasn't very pleasant weather wise, I can see that the area has some great trails for walkers.

The food was great from the get-go, although service sometimes seemed a little slow (but that maybe because it was quite a busy weekend).

Overall, a great, relaxing trip that I would certainly look to book again.



Lifehouse Spa & Hotel says...

Thank you very much for your feedback and lovely review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the slow service, we did experience some staff shortages during that busy period and have been recruiting to ensure that our service level is kept to a high standard so as not to keep guests waiting. I am pleased to say that this have now been resolved.

We wish you all the best for the upcoming arrival of your little one and hope to welcome you back to Lifehouse soon.

With kind regards, The Management Team at Lifehouse

Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa South East England, England
nr Dartford

View more details & offers

Manor of Groves Hotel Hertfordshire & Buckinghamshire, England
 

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    December 2017
S M T W T F S
26 27 28 29 30 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.