MENU
 
Book Now Hillthwaite
Hillthwaite Windermere, Cumbria & The Lakes

Family owned classic country hotel nr Lake Windermere

Hillthwaite

Hillthwaite Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 16 reviews Member since 2016

Thornbarrow Road, Windermere, Cumbria, LA23 2DF

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

16 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


StarStarStarStarStar GM, Lincolnshire, stayed: November 2017 Show more...


"Enjoyable stay"

StarStarStarStarStar DG, Greater Manchester, stayed: November 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Had a nice stay, staff very helpful, food very good, nice pool, steam room & sauna. Only down side was a small room with no view & a lack of sockets.



"Fab night"

StarStarStarStarStar Patricia L, Tyne and Wear, stayed: November 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Would highly recommend staff lovely nice family hotel



"Relaxing break"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

2 nights well spent in an occasion room. Stunning newly refurbished bathroom had lots of luxurious extras.
We ate dinner both nights in the restaurant and the quality of food was excellent. Waiting staff were professional and polite.  Pool is small but adequate, ideal for kids and sauna and steam room would be very welcome after a long walk in the rain.



"Review of our short break"

StarStarStarStarStar Alan, County Durham, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We enjoyed our 1 night break and we will return for a longer break in 2018. Every aspect of the stay was good and we had no complaints whatsoever.



"A RELAXING BREAK WITH GREAT FOOD"

StarStarStarStarStar GDB & MAB-Middlesex, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Our experience at the Hilthwaite House Hotel was most enjoyable. The Occasions Room that we had was excellent, with a relaxing lounge area and luxurious, was even Quality Wine & chocolates waiting as a gift in our room.  The Breakfast selection and quality was excellent and was a perfect start to the day but the Dinner was exceptional. The choice and quality of food on offer each evening, with a changing Menu, the presentation of the food and most importantly the taste, was worth the trip alone.  The staff were friendly and polite and efficient and we found our stay very enjoyable and relaxing. It's location is great, being high up, which gives you wonderful views of the lake and Hotel is well recommended.



"Terrible view from the room"

StarStarStarStarStar RW, West Yorkshire, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Not the luxurious break I was expecting. We had a classic room and the view from our room was terrible just the backs of other rooms and a scruffy courtyard used to store rubbish. Cleanliness wasn't great and the food very disappointing in the restaurant. Reception staff did not even ask if we had enjoyed our stay, that says a lot! Glass of white wine at dinner plus a water was £11.50. Will not be returning.



"Well Worth A Visit"

StarStarStarStarStar CS, Greater Manchester, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We spent three nights at the Hillthwaite Hotel. We really couldn't fault it - from the impressive decor, the excellent meals and the friendly and helpful staff. I hope it won't be too long before we can visit again and for a longer stay next time.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

The Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Cumbria & The Lakes, England
Windermere

View more details & offers

The Wordsworth Hotel & Spa Cumbria & The Lakes, England
Grasmere

View more details & offers

Lindeth Howe Cumbria & The Lakes, England
Bowness on Windermere

View more details & offers

   
Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    April 2018
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 1 2 3 4 5



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.