MENU
 
Book Now Hillthwaite House Hotel
Hillthwaite House Hotel Windermere, Cumbria & The Lakes

Family owned classic country hotel nr Lake Windermere

Hillthwaite House Hotel

Hillthwaite House Hotel Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 13 reviews Member since March 2016

Thornbarrow Road, Windermere, Cumbria, LA23 2DF

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

13 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Relaxing break"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

2 nights well spent in an occasion room. Stunning newly refurbished bathroom had lots of luxurious extras.
We ate dinner both nights in the restaurant and the quality of food was excellent. Waiting staff were professional and polite.  Pool is small but adequate, ideal for kids and sauna and steam room would be very welcome after a long walk in the rain.



"Review of our short break"

StarStarStarStarStar Alan, County Durham, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We enjoyed our 1 night break and we will return for a longer break in 2018. Every aspect of the stay was good and we had no complaints whatsoever.



"A RELAXING BREAK WITH GREAT FOOD"

StarStarStarStarStar GDB & MAB-Middlesex, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Our experience at the Hilthwaite House Hotel was most enjoyable. The Occasions Room that we had was excellent, with a relaxing lounge area and luxurious, was even Quality Wine & chocolates waiting as a gift in our room.  The Breakfast selection and quality was excellent and was a perfect start to the day but the Dinner was exceptional. The choice and quality of food on offer each evening, with a changing Menu, the presentation of the food and most importantly the taste, was worth the trip alone.  The staff were friendly and polite and efficient and we found our stay very enjoyable and relaxing. It's location is great, being high up, which gives you wonderful views of the lake and Hotel is well recommended.



"Terrible view from the room"

StarStarStarStarStar RW, West Yorkshire, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Not the luxurious break I was expecting. We had a classic room and the view from our room was terrible just the backs of other rooms and a scruffy courtyard used to store rubbish. Cleanliness wasn't great and the food very disappointing in the restaurant. Reception staff did not even ask if we had enjoyed our stay, that says a lot! Glass of white wine at dinner plus a water was £11.50. Will not be returning.



"Well Worth A Visit"

StarStarStarStarStar CS, Greater Manchester, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We spent three nights at the Hillthwaite Hotel. We really couldn't fault it - from the impressive decor, the excellent meals and the friendly and helpful staff. I hope it won't be too long before we can visit again and for a longer stay next time.



"A hidden gem, well nearly."

StarStarStarStarStar CM, Merseyside, stayed: July 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Hotel was spotlessly clean in public areas as well as bedrooms and bathrooms. A bit of a rabbit warren but perhaps that is part of the charm. It did not have a lift but we knew that in advance however that would probably prevent us from revisiting. Excellent views across the lake from all the public rooms and some of the bedrooms including ours. Food was very good if and when it arrived. We waited 30 minutes for our main courses after the first courses had been cleared away, some breakfast items just didn't appear at all. Waiting staff were quite attentive but did not appear to have very much experience of waiting on in a hotel of this quality.



"First time - first class"

StarStarStarStarStar Arthur S, North Yorkshire, stayed: July 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

There was very little to complain about. There was an incident about the noise from the extractor fan outside Room 19. It did not switch itself off at 10pm which was what we were told. We reported the matter to a member of staff who dealt with our complaint very nicely and efficiently. We moved rooms and the following morning we were very well looked after again.
We found the staff efficient and very pleasant at all times.



"Most Amazing Weekend Away"

StarStarStarStarStar Jo, Bristol, stayed: June 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Myself and my husband came to stay at the Hillthwaite House Hotel for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. The moment we arrived we knew that we had picked a great place to stay and were looking forward to the weekend. We had not been to the Lake District before so had to book with no local knowledge but we could not believe what a great decision this hotel was.
Breakfast was brilliant everyday with plenty of choice from continental to full English and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was perfect - we stayed in Ruskin (Room 224) - it was set away from the hotel slightly but was lovely and quiet with great views.
We had dinner included in our package and decided to take that on our 2nd night for our actual anniversary. The hotel sat us in the restaurant at a lovely table and went to the effort of decorating the table for the occasion - we did not expect this but it made the evening even more special.
The food was amazing - both of us wished we could have eaten it all, all over again!
The facilities at the hotel were fantastic and the staff are so welcoming and friendly - Zuzzana (Sorry if this is mispelt) in the bar made our weekend even more special and took the time to get to know us whilst we sat to have a drink and then in the morning she served at breakfast and again she went out of her way to ask how we were.
The hotel is very luxurious and we cant wait to come back again - we will definitely book here when we do.
Thank you all for a lovely weekend.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

The Beech Hill Hotel & Spa Cumbria & The Lakes, England
Windermere

View more details & offers

Lindeth Howe Cumbria & The Lakes, England
Bowness on Windermere

View more details & offers

The Wordsworth Hotel & Spa Cumbria & The Lakes, England
Grasmere

View more details & offers

   
Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    November 2017
S M T W T F S
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 1 2



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.