MENU
 
Book Now Down Hall
Down Hall nr Bishops Stortford, East Anglia

4* country hotel and spa just 45 minutes from Central London

Down Hall

Down Hall Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 114 reviews Member since 2011

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

114 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Relaxing and satisfying stay at Down Hall"

StarStarStarStarStar Jade, Essex, stayed: December 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

My partner and I stayed at Down Hall for the first time and we were extremely happy with our stay, the executive room was lovely and comfortable as well as clean, dinner in the steak restaurant was tasty and service was great .... overall a great stay would definitely recommend



"Beautiful Setting"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: November 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Enjoyed an overnight stay here mid November.. Very friendly staff in this hotel and we were made to feel very welcome. Overall we couldn't fault it, good service, excellent snack midday, dinner in the evening and a good breakfast selection, we enjoyed the spa too! What more could you ask for?
We needed to change one of our options before booking so I booked via the telephone, I must add the customer service I received on that call given by OPL was top notch too



"Ruby wedding celebration"

StarStarStarStarStar Mark B, Essex, stayed: November 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Everything about the hotel was excellent. There were 18 of us and they offered us a private room for our dinner. The service and food were superb. The rooms were very nice. As I made the booking and specific room requirements I was very pleased when everything was as requested. We intend staying again. Also all the people I contacted at offpeakluxury.com were very friendly and helpful. Thank you very much



"Perfect for our Ruby Wedding Celebration"

StarStarStarStarStar Roy C, Surrey, stayed: November 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

The chilled champagne was waiting in out lovely room overlooking ornamental pond and beautiful grounds. A complimentary Happy Anniversary sharing dessert was set alongside the champagne - a lovely touch. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and the breakfast was excellent. All the staff were polite and helpful and they created a very relaxed atmosphere.



"Birthday Weekend"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: November 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We spent a Sat night there with 2 other couples for a birthday weekend few weeks ago and it was just amazing. I am so pleased to have chosen this place for that event. First of all what a beautiful and gorgeous place this is. The building is really quaint and grand doesn't even come close to describing it. It is simply royal and breathtaking. The grounds are pristine and the food was really good.  Everything was just amazing except the afternoon tea. I found that to be just useless. The food was not good at all. The tea's were standard and service was good.  The dinner however was just fantastic. Every item was cooked to perfection and was just mouthwatering and delicious. I will be attaching few pictures of the items.  The drinks were good and the service was very efficient. I would strongly suggest a romantic weekend here for couples.



"Disappointed"

StarStarStarStarStar AG, Derbyshire, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

The hotel was beautiful and the room large and spotlessly clean, the service at the restaurant in the mornings was very friendly as were the reception team on our check out.  However, the restaurant service on the two evenings spoilt the ocassion. The waiter on the first evening was very friendly, however, the £30pp was not what it seemed and the staff were very unhelpful (one quite rude) when customers (and there were many) merely wanted clarification. Unfortunately, this made our stay very uncomfortable.



"Disappointing"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

I booked to stay here with my 2 daughters for my eldests 18th birthday. Firstly our sat nab took us the wrong direction but when I phoned twice for directions (we were only a mile away) the receptionist was quit unhelpful. We were therefore late to our afternoon tea that had been pre booked for 2pm. We arrived at 2.40 and were told to go straight the restaurant, which we did. I have my name but was told that there was no booking. The waiter eventually found it booked in for 3.15?? He afternoon tea was very dissapointing especially at 25 a head. We were unlucky that they had just started a Halloween special for the menu but most of it was inedible. The only savoury section was the multicoloured sandwiches and my section were cut so thin there was hardly anything of them. The fruit scone was nice, but was disappointed to find the second scone to be plain not cheese so another sweet scone that we couldn't eat. The desserts on the top were disgusting, and looking round the room we were not the only people to think that looking at the hardly touched food left. Me and my youngest daughter had green tea - and apart from the 1st cup it was so strong it was a dark red colour and burnt as you swollowed it because there was just too many leaves inside. We are asked for a new pot but got the same one back again with more leaves so this was just undrinkable.

We then checked it, but whilst queuing was chased by a waitress asking us to pay for the afternoon tea but I had paid for the whole stay in advance. When checking in, nothing was explained to us about the hotel, facilities or the restaurant or breakfast. We were just asked to pay a holding deposit and given our keys.

The rooms are nice and spacious with a large bed but we had an adjoining room and our neighbours were very noisy until 2/3 in the morning as all the sound came through the locked adjoining door.

We couldn't get into the sauna area as you needed a pin code and this had t been explained to us or provided which was a shame. I remember the days staying there when you had easy access to a pool and sauna but these facilities have gone now sadly.

The grounds were lovely as was our evening meal, albeit expensive.

We then missed breakfast the following day as I had mis read the time slot for breakfast so this was the ending to our dissapointing weekend away.

Sadly I won't be rushing back to stay there again. I was never made to feel welcome or that the staff would go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, which is why I didn't ask if they would help with my breakfast mistake as I know what the answer would have been. . I have had much more friendly staff at premier inns for a fraction of the price!!



"Bollywood comes to Down Hall"

StarStarStarStarStar Dave F, Essex, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

While we stayed at hotel, a film crew arrived. It was so interesting to watch. Hotel was as good as ever.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Swan at Lavenham East Anglia, England
Lavenham

View more details & offers

Hintlesham Hall East Anglia, England
Suffolk

View more details & offers

Shendish Manor Hotel Hertfordshire & Buckinghamshire, England
Apsley, Herts

View more details & offers

Manor of Groves Hotel Hertfordshire & Buckinghamshire, England
 

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    January 2018
S M T W T F S
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31 1 2 3



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.