MENU
 
Book Now Down Hall
Down Hall nr Bishops Stortford, East Anglia

4* country hotel and spa just 45 minutes from Central London

Down Hall

Down Hall Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 125 reviews Member since 2011

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM22 7AS

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

125 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Overall stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Satwinder S, Essex, stayed: April 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I would recommend Down Hall to everyone. its a very romantic setting for all year round. Staff there were excellent and very helpful. Breakfast lunch and afternoon tea plus supper was above excellent.having the afternoon tea I would recommend it to everyone but make sure you have it 3 hours plus before you have your supper as its quite filling.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: March 2018 Show more...


"Beautiful setting and interiors"

StarStarStarStarStar TM, Cambridgeshire, stayed: March 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

After a long queue at check in we got to our room which was lovely and I loved the doggy bed and treats. The champagne was waiting for us.  We could not get a seat anywhere in the bar area nor the palatial lounge, so ordered room service. This was expensive and somewhat mediocre. The concierge said we'd have to pay as we had not set up a credit card, however this was not the case and because reception had been so busy, they hadn't managed to attribute our card to our room.  Booked a meal in the restaurant, however was placed in a room adjacent to reception which felt less cozy. Limited menu, so had to resort to a steak which was OK.
My biggest complaint is that the couple next door had also brought their dog, but had left it all night in the room and it barked continuously until early hours. This really spoilt my experience.  Mixed feelings, but on the whole a good value short break.



"Catch up with friends"

StarStarStarStarStar Paul T, Cambridgeshire, stayed: March 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

The hotel was very well kept and clean considering its age.  There was a wedding on which spilled into the bar area but it was quite friendly.  The champagne we got on arrival we drank in the bar as they didn't mind.  The rooms were cosy ands needs very comfortable, our friends really enjoyed it too and already looking to use offpeakluxry again -  job well done would stay again.



"A wonderful stay"

StarStarStarStarStar MW, Essex, stayed: March 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar

Fantastic value for money. Staff couldn't have been more helpful.



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: March 2018 Show more...


"Steer clear for the price - Real let down."

StarStarStarStarStar Craig, Kent, stayed: February 2018
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Room needed a freshen-up & clean, black scuffs on walls and general dust.  Wifi didn't reach rooms.  No mobile phone service at the hotel, which I think should be advertised. We have children so needed to be reachable at all times.  There was a wedding going on which is ordinarily fine, however the celebration room is in the middle of the hotel so you have to walk past it when leaving your room. Noisy Wedding guests and children using the general bar which completely disrespects the idea of a romantic relaxing getaway.  Booked and paid for champagne which was not in the room on arrival as should have been.


Offpeakluxury says...

Your comments have been forwarded to the hotel however we would like to comment on a couple of points referring to our website.  When wi-fi is available at one of our hotels the appropriate icon is shown.  This is not displayed on the page relating to Down Hall on our websoite as this service is not available.  Unfortunately some hotels that are off the beaten track do have a limited phone signal.

We would like to thank you for your feedback however are sorry to hear your stay was not to your satisfaction. 

Kind regards

Offpeakluxury


StarStarStarStarStar Peter B, herts, stayed: February 2018 Show more...


Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Hintlesham Hall East Anglia, England
Suffolk

View more details & offers

Swan at Lavenham East Anglia, England
Lavenham

View more details & offers

Shendish Manor Hotel Hertfordshire & Buckinghamshire, England
Apsley, Herts

View more details & offers

Manor of Groves Hotel Hertfordshire & Buckinghamshire, England
 

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    April 2018
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 1 2 3 4 5



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.