MENU
 
Book Now Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg, Edinburgh

13th Century romantic castle set in parkland nr Edinburgh

Dalhousie Castle

Dalhousie Castle Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 70 reviews Member since November 2015

Edinburgh, Midlothian, EH19 3JB

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

70 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Romantic Getaway"

StarStarStarStarStar Arron, VA, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Wife and I ended our three week Scotland vacation here and it was absolutely the perfect choice. The castle was beautiful and romantic, and the dinner in the Dungeon was 5 stars. I especially enjoyed the Library where you could enjoy a beer and read books dating back to the early 1800's. The wait staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Men you can't go wrong here.



"Dalhousie Castle "

StarStarStarStarStar Tim M, South Yorkshire, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Having stayed at Dalhousie Castle many times previously we always keep an eye out for any special offers that may come up. This time was no exception and with the guidance and support of the off peak staff we got to book the rooms we wanted and had the opportunity to add little extras which made our stay that little bit more special.  The Castle is stunning, simply stunning and the food is awesome with the traditional Scottish breakfast a must!!!



"Definitely recommended"

StarStarStarStarStar TY, Greater London, stayed: September 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

We loved our stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone considering it. Plenty of grounds with forest, field and river for walking. We spent a couple of hours each day walking there and are so pleased we had enough time for it.  The castle is beautiful and the dungeon restaurant was wonderful - the food was surprisingly good. Large portion size, flavourful, and we were impressed with the friendly and unobtrusive waiters.  The spa was small and sweet and we enjoyed our massages.  The icing on the cake for us was the room. We were there for our anniversary and we received un upgrade to a suite in the castle rocks annexe. It was amazing - private conservatory and garden and enormous bed and bathroom. We were so sad to be there for such a short time!  We arrived around 2 on one day and left around 12.30 the next. In that time we walked, relaxed, ate, drank and were merry. We would go back in a heartbeat.



"One night mini break"

StarStarStarStarStar Gordon, Angus, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I booked the romantic mini break & paid a 15.00 supplement for an upgraded room. This was available free on the day as part of the package depending on availability. It was worth paying as we ended up in the William Wallace suite at the top of the castle (many stairs) complete with four poster bed & rooftop terrace with great views. One slight niggle was the distant but still fairly loud sound of glass smashing presumably at a recycling plant, but it didn't last long and could only be heard when outside on the terrace. The room was clean & comfortable & as promised, there was a chilled bottle of Laurent Perrier in the room.
We found the staff to be very friendly & helpful & our meal in the dungeon restaurant was very good indeed. All in all a very pleasant stay.



"Disappointing"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: June 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

The exterior of the Dalhousie Castle is the highlight as the inside is very tired. The carpets are a mess.
The dungeon restaurant looks fantastic but then you get the food which is very poor and the service is miserable.  Breakfast and afternoon tea in the Orangery was great. Food and service really good. If only the rest of the staff were like that.  Spa was lovely and with very friendly staff.



"Absolutely gorgeous and charming"

StarStarStarStarStar TP, Canada, stayed: May 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

My spouse and I had a wonderful time. The castle was fantastic, the room beautiful, the food absolutely divine (the best we had of the whole trip) - all in all a wonderful stay, we just wished we could have stayed longer. Will definitely be back. Thank you for ending our trip on such a high note.



"Disappointed. Special family break ..... our two rooms couldn't have been further apart."

StarStarStarStarStar KG, stayed: May 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I booked two rooms. When we arrived our rooms couldn't have been further away from each other if they had tried, which was really disappointing and spoiled it a bit for us. My parents room was in the lower ground on the left of the castle and we were on the very top floor on the right side of the castle. We came to celebrate a 60th and 70th birthday and it would have been nice to pop into each other's rooms for a relaxing nightcap before bed. It would have been nice just to knock on their door to see if they were ready for meals.  I know these may seem like little things to you but this is the first time it has happened to us and it did impact on our stay. I asked the receptionist if we could have rooms together and we didn't think she was very friendly about it and didn't even check if there was another room available. There was nobody to help us with our cases which meant we had to leave ours and take our parents down with their cases first. So all in all it was a bit inconvenient.
Having often travelled booking two rooms this is the first time our rooms have not either been adjacent or opposite to each other which I find very surprising at somewhere like this.  I have only rated the rooms ok because of this, otherwise they would have had an excellent rating because the rooms themselves were excellent, it was the location of the two rooms that was the problem.  I have said I would stay again, but I would not book for any family again it would just be one room because of this.



"2 day break"

StarStarStarStarStar PH, Berkshire, stayed: May 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Booked as a special B&B deal with dinner on the first night. Not a hotel for anyone who doesn't like stairs as there is no lift (castles were not built with lifts in mind!). Our room was on the third floor and the spa and restaurant were in the basement so we got fit going up and down. Restaurant food was excellent and the service was very good. We went into Edinburgh using the local train service which worked out very well. Overall very enjoyable



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Cringletie House Borders & Lanarkshire, Scotland
Peebles, Nr Edinburgh

View more details & offers

Matfen Hall Hotel Yorkshire & The North East, England
nr Newcastle

View more details & offers

Eshott Hall Yorkshire & The North East, England
 

View more details & offers

Carberry Tower Castle and Estate Edinburgh, Scotland
nr Musselburgh

View more details & offers

Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    October 2017
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.