MENU
 
Book Now Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Devon & Cornwall

Iconic luxury castle in the heart of Devon's Dartmoor National Park

Bovey Castle

Bovey Castle Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 31 reviews Member since 2014

Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England, TQ13 8RE

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

31 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Bovey Castle Stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Judy, Dorset, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I arranged a 2 night dinner bed and breakfast stay for my husbands 70th birthday. What a lovely place. We couldn't have been more happy (apart from the weather) Would certainly stay there again



StarStarStarStarStar LP, Cambridgeshire, stayed: July 2017 Show more...


"Overall a great stay"

StarStarStarStarStar LC, Staffordshire, stayed: May 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Overall, Bovey Castle is fabulous - the location, the lounges, the rooms, the food. We stayed 4 nights: three of them we ate in the Brasserie (great choice, pretty good value) and one night we ate in the Great Western restaurant - fabulous, although probably a touch overpriced. Unless you plan to eat out, then the DBB package gives the best value but the drinks are expensive (even by 5* hotel standards). The only niggle we had was the night our daughter was asleep at dinner time so I asked them for a ham sandwich to take to our room in case she woke up hungry... initially they tried to charge £9.50 but later reduced that to £5.25 when they realised it was for our daughter! Also, worth checking your bills - 12.5% gets added to every bill for the service charge (including what you have in your DBB allowance), so over 4 nights we'd have paid over £150 in tips!



"A wonderful experience"

StarStarStarStarStar RW, Kent, stayed: April 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: April 2017 Show more...

Offpeakluxury says...

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Bovey Castle. 

We understand you were not entirely happy with the first room allocated however fortunately, due to a last minute cancellation, the hotel was able to offer you a complimentary upgrade which was to your satifaction. 

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and the hotel hope to welcome you back soon. 

Kind regards,

Offpeakluxury


"Great stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Michael C, Wiltshire, stayed: April 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Overall a very good experience.



"We had a 4 night stay for 13 people"

StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: April 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Service in the restaurant was appalling. It took over 3 hours to have a dinner. When I complained about the time it took I was told gourmet restaurants take that amount of time. What a load of rubbish. We had 13 people there and several times some left before their dessert arrived. They couldn't even bring all the meals together and often had to wait 10 mins. for the rest of the main courses to arrive. Very disappointing. The activities were great with knowledgeable helpful staff. I would stay there again for the activities but would try and eat elsewhere.



"Great stay - one drawback"

StarStarStarStarStar Paul G, Avon, stayed: April 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar

The welcome and staff were exemplary throughout our 3 day stay.  The hotel and rooms were well decorated and very comfortable; having a small separate bedroom for our teenager was a bonus!  We participated in "activities" - fishing, archery, shooting, spa - each day and they were well organised with knowledgeable, pleasant and humorous instructors. A little less 'talk' and more shots would have been better on the off-site clay shooting.  The hotel was let down by the quality of the food. The Brasserie food (twice) was uninspired pub-grubbish even with a 'new' menu; The Great Western aspired to MasterChef Final but only achieved first round status and at horrendous prices. The buffet breakfasts (hot food) were Little Chef quality.  Would go back when food reviews show significant improvement.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Orestone Manor Devon & Cornwall, England
Maidencombe, South Devon

View more details & offers

Buckland Tout Saints Devon & Cornwall, England
Nr Kingsbridge, Devon

View more details & offers

St Michaels Hotel & Spa Devon & Cornwall, England
Falmouth

View more details & offers

   
Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    October 2017
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.