MENU
 
Book Now Bovey Castle
Bovey Castle Devon & Cornwall

Iconic luxury castle in the heart of Devon's Dartmoor National Park

Bovey Castle

Bovey Castle Reviews

StarStarStarStarStar 33 reviews Member since 2014

Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England, TQ13 8RE

4
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Rooms: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

33 reviews, sorted by Date | Rating


"Realaxing,Romantic Stay in Luxurious Country Setting"

StarStarStarStarStar TJ, Oxfordshire, stayed: October 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

We arrived after a tour around Cornwall as a wedding present, however one night at another hotel resulted in a very disappointing stay and we cancelled our reservation and needed to find somewhere else, or go home that would have been a real bad end to what had been a much looked forward to and needed break.

We had one further night left, so after a quick search booked through Offpeakluxury as we had used them for a previous booking that had been really lovely. Approaching Bovey Castle was very impressive and the welcome from the staff in the car park was excellent, we were welcomed, bags taken from us then ushered in, checked in swiftly then led to our rooms that had been upgraded. Dinner had been booked also a short massage in the spa. The massage after freshening up was lovely and relaxing. Dinner was included in the price of the stay, however we paid extra and upgraded to the fine dining restaurant. The staff in the bar offered pre-dinner drinks, we ordered from the menu then were led to our table. All the food and wine was delicious in a relaxing setting and attentive waiting staff. Only points to make about the food other than praise, my turbot was over cooked and an element of my starter course missing, though otherwise very good. Fresh bread was very tasty, although too much of it and dessert was gorgeous. We rested well in a super comfy bed and then woke to a fine breakfast. I had haddock that was undercooked though it was swiftly replaced the staff were profusely apologetic. We used the pool after breakfast and wished we could have stayed longer. A great save to our trip in a fine hotel, would love to return!



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: October 2017 Show more...


"Bovey Castle Stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Judy, Dorset, stayed: August 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

I arranged a 2 night dinner bed and breakfast stay for my husbands 70th birthday. What a lovely place. We couldn't have been more happy (apart from the weather) Would certainly stay there again



StarStarStarStarStar LP, Cambridgeshire, stayed: July 2017 Show more...


"Overall a great stay"

StarStarStarStarStar LC, Staffordshire, stayed: May 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Overall, Bovey Castle is fabulous - the location, the lounges, the rooms, the food. We stayed 4 nights: three of them we ate in the Brasserie (great choice, pretty good value) and one night we ate in the Great Western restaurant - fabulous, although probably a touch overpriced. Unless you plan to eat out, then the DBB package gives the best value but the drinks are expensive (even by 5* hotel standards). The only niggle we had was the night our daughter was asleep at dinner time so I asked them for a ham sandwich to take to our room in case she woke up hungry... initially they tried to charge £9.50 but later reduced that to £5.25 when they realised it was for our daughter! Also, worth checking your bills - 12.5% gets added to every bill for the service charge (including what you have in your DBB allowance), so over 4 nights we'd have paid over £150 in tips!



"A wonderful experience"

StarStarStarStarStar RW, Kent, stayed: April 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again



StarStarStarStarStar Anon, stayed: April 2017 Show more...

Offpeakluxury says...

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Bovey Castle. 

We understand you were not entirely happy with the first room allocated however fortunately, due to a last minute cancellation, the hotel was able to offer you a complimentary upgrade which was to your satifaction. 

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and the hotel hope to welcome you back soon. 

Kind regards,

Offpeakluxury


"Great stay"

StarStarStarStarStar Michael C, Wiltshire, stayed: April 2017
Overall Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
Value for money: StarStarStarStarStar
Room(s): StarStarStarStarStar
Spa: StarStarStarStarStar
Location: StarStarStarStarStar
Restaurant: StarStarStarStarStar
Customer service: StarStarStarStarStar

Would stay here again

Overall a very good experience.



Other UK hotels that may be of interest

Orestone Manor Devon & Cornwall, England
Maidencombe, South Devon

View more details & offers

Buckland Tout Saints Devon & Cornwall, England
Nr Kingsbridge, Devon

View more details & offers

St Michaels Hotel & Spa Devon & Cornwall, England
Falmouth

View more details & offers

   
Secure online booking - accepted cards: Mastercard, Visa, Solo, Switch, Delta, American Express
Secure online booking

You can book any hotel break through our secure online booking system.
If you have any queries please check our FAQs. We accept the following credit and debit cards:

Search Offers at this hotel

Select your arrival date

= Minimum night stay applies
    December 2017
S M T W T F S
26 27 28 29 30 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6



Full availability
To book by phone, or for help and advice
0333 2125 594
Excited about your luxury break? Share it on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, and more.